Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Apparent Windows update problem

    On June 15 I automatically downloaded cumulative update KB3149135 to 3 different computers. On a single computer, the one I primarily use, I noticed several changes in operation. The mouse cursor had a blue spinner that ran constantly and several apps that came with Win 10 stopped working altogether. After a couple of days the blue spinner problem disappeared of its own accord (go figure). The Microsoft Store, Microsoft Solitaire Collection and the Calculator apps still will not function. I tried uninstalling but that fails. I tried reinstalling from the store and that fails. I tried running the executables from the System32 directory and that fails. I cannot uninstall the upsate and I also don't have a suitable restore point I can use. Can anyone suggest a fix short of a major system overhaul? Is a system restore the answer?

  2. #2
    davidhk
    Guest
    Have you tried this tutorial already ?
    How to Reinstall and Re-register All Built-in Windows Apps in Windows 8 and 10
    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/3...ws-8-10-a.html

    If that does not help, my suggestion will be doing a system file check :

    Right click at Start button > click Command Prompt (Admin) > at the flashing prompt, copy/paste this.......
    sfc /scannow

    > press Enter.
    It will take quite sometime.
    When finished, it will give you one of the 3 reports...............(paraphrasing)
    1. No integrity violation.
    2. Found corrupt files and repair successful.
    3. Found corrupt files but unable to repair.

    If the report is #1, your solution lies elsewhere.
    If the report is #2, check if your problems have been resolved.
    If the report is #3, use this method................
    In the same Command Prompt (Admin) windows, copy and paste this command...........

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    > press Enter.
    Again it will take some time.
    When finished, it will give you a report.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to davidhk For This Useful Post:

    Lugh (2016-06-22)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am having the same issue. Solitaire, Calculator, Skype, Windows Store, etc all do not work. When I try to open one I get the following message:

    This App can't open. There is a problem with _______. Contact your system admin about repairing or reinstalling.

    I also uninstalled the KB3149135 which did not solve the problem.

    Any suggestions? Is it worth contacting MS?

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davidhk View Post
    Have you tried this tutorial already ?
    How to Reinstall and Re-register All Built-in Windows Apps in Windows 8 and 10
    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/3...ws-8-10-a.html

    If that does not help, my suggestion will be doing a system file check :

    Right click at Start button > click Command Prompt (Admin) > at the flashing prompt, copy/paste this.......
    sfc /scannow

    > press Enter.
    It will take quite sometime.
    When finished, it will give you one of the 3 reports...............(paraphrasing)
    1. No integrity violation.
    2. Found corrupt files and repair successful.
    3. Found corrupt files but unable to repair.

    If the report is #1, your solution lies elsewhere.
    If the report is #2, check if your problems have been resolved.
    If the report is #3, use this method................
    In the same Command Prompt (Admin) windows, copy and paste this command...........

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    > press Enter.
    Again it will take some time.
    When finished, it will give you a report.
    Thanks for your reply. I tried the Reinstall and Re-register All Built-in Windows Apps and got the error message where "an App is currently in use". I did not have any other programs open besides Windows PowerShell.

    I tried the 2nd method you mention and got result #1.

  6. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes. I have tried all those things. The system file scan reports that corrupt files were found and some of them could not be repaired. I looked at the log file and it said a file openCL.dll could not be found. Did a search and that indicates that the file is for a video adapter. Nvidia says my video driver is up to date. In short I am at a dead end on that one. I ran the Power Shell script and it came back with an error code and the message that "the package could not be installed because a resource it modifies is in use. I attempted the suggested image restore command and likewise that failed with a reference to another log file that did me no good at all.

  7. #6
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Cecebee View Post
    I attempted the suggested image restore command and likewise that failed with a reference to another log file that did me no good at all.


    Did you get an error message " Source files could not be found " ?
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-06-18 at 18:56.

  8. #7
    davidhk
    Guest
    To : cecebee

    Assuming you got the error message "Source files could not be found".

    Please use the Tech Bench link and download YOUR edition of Windows 10.
    Make sure you pick the same edition, language and bit version as your computer is now running.
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/softw...load/techbench

    Once you have the iso downloaded, right click at the ISO > click Mount > leave it there.

    Then open the elevated command prompt and copy and paste this................

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /Source:wim:H:\sources\install.wim:1 /limitaccess

    Note : H is the drive where the iso is mounted. Change it if your driver letter is different.
    When it is completed, you should get the report that the operation is successful.
    Now run the sfc /scannow again. It should be ok this time.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-06-19 at 17:35. Reason: msipelled the OP's name.

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I also tried the first method with no success. I got the error that an application was open (I only had Window PowerShell open).

    When I tried the second method I got the No integrity violation result

  10. #9
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by ts703 View Post
    I also tried the first method with no success. I got the error that an application was open (I only had Window PowerShell open).

    When I tried the second method I got the No integrity violation result
    *** You problem is not the same as cecebee.***

    MY suggestion to you is to do a Repair Install.
    You will be allowed to keep your files, settings and apps.
    No product key is required.
    Activation is automatic.

    Use this Tech Bench link and download your version of Windows 10.
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...brrWLRbagYCa0w

    Scroll down to Select Edition > click the pointer at the right and select your version Windows 10 > click Confirm.
    Click the pointer and select Language > make sure you pick the same language the computer is now running > click Confirm
    Select the bit version, 32 or 64-bit. Make sure you select the same bit version as the computer is now running.
    At the bottom, click the pointer next to Save > click Save As > navigate to a folder of your choice > click the chosen folder > click Save
    The iso will start downloading to your chosen folder.
    When it is done, go to that folder > open the folder > right click at the iso file > click Mount > click Setup.exe
    Installation will begin.
    It will allow you to keep you files, settings and apps.
    No product key is required.
    Activation will be automatic.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-06-18 at 21:03.

  11. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Apparent Windows update problem

    Quote Originally Posted by davidhk View Post
    Did you get an error message " Source files could not be found " ?
    Yes. I got the following message:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0

    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0

    [==========================100.0%================== ========]

    Error: 0x800f081f

    The source files could not be found.
    Use the "Source" option to specify the location of the files that are required to restore the feature. For more information on specifying a source location, see http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=243077.

    The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>

    Being totally unfamiliar with this feature of Windows 10 I am now trying to decide what to do next. I followed the link given in the message above but the linked materials have been archived with a message that the info. may be out of date or something to that effect. I am now in the "read and learn" phase of trying to understand what has happened to cause all this.
    Last edited by Cecebee; 2016-06-19 at 10:11. Reason: By the way, thanks for your assistance. Your suggestions sound like those of someone who is well versed.

  12. #11
    davidhk
    Guest
    To : cecebee

    What browser do you use ?
    Some told me he could not use the Tech Bench link, and he was using Chrome.
    He switched to IE11 and no issue after that.

    Please try the Tech Bench link again. If same issue happens, please post the exact message.
    Thank you.

  13. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I assume you mean this link:https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...r=-2147217396#

    If that is what you are referring to I did try it in both Firefox and IE11 and got identical results.

  14. #13
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Cecebee View Post
    I assume you mean this link:https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...r=-2147217396#

    If that is what you are referring to I did try it in both Firefox and IE11 and got identical results.
    No. I am asking you to follow post #7.
    That one is posted for you.

  15. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Apparent Windows update problem

    Quote Originally Posted by davidhk View Post
    No. I am asking you to follow post #7.
    That one is posted for you.
    Sorry. There was a misspelling of my name so I didn't even notice that posting and didn't get a notification on it being posted.
    I downloaded both the 32 and 64 bit, English versions. I immediately need the 64 bit ISO but will burn both to DVDs for possible future needs. I'll let you know if the repairs work as advertised.

  16. #15
    davidhk
    Guest
    Question :
    This thread has 5 gold stars.
    What does that mean ?

    5 gold stars.jpg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •