Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Can't activate Windows hidden, master admin account.

    My operating system is Windows 8.1 (x64) (build 9600).

    I have tried both the point and click and the command line methods, as described by Fred Langa in his Newsletter article dated May 14, 2015, without success. I have also read the other forum entries which deal with the problem, none of which have been any help.

    I would appreciate any help to overcome this problem.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    The usual way is to open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter net user administrator /active:yes followed by exit and then a reboot or you can use the cmd shutdown /r /t 00 to auto effect an immediate reboot where upon the restart you will see an Admin icon to click on.

    After executing the cmd - are you getting anything other than The command completed successfully ?

    You could try the cmd in Safe Mode or check Event Viewer to see why it isn't executing.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Syncopator (2016-06-21)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    Why do you need to activate the account? Do you have a problem only it will fix?

    cheers, Paul

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,727
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    Apparently the thread starter wants the admin acct activated. I have mine activated with a password. At every beginning of Windows [post boot/startup], I have three choices, admin, rjs, or guest account. There were times I had to use the admin acct to accomplish an end-run or a hail-merry pass to a specific goal-post; upon touchdown!, I was able to resume normal operations within my rjs account.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2016-06-21 at 13:32.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    I have never required the built-in admin account and don't expect to need it. I have only one account, an admin level account.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Perhaps we should wait for David to get back with more details or progress.

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,727
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    Syncopator, did you get your admin acct activated ok?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  9. #8
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    The usual way is to open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter net user administrator /active:yes followed by exit and then a reboot or you can use the cmd shutdown /r /t 00 to auto effect an immediate reboot where upon the restart you will see an Admin icon to click on.

    After executing the cmd - are you getting anything other than The command completed successfully ?

    You could try the cmd in Safe Mode or check Event Viewer to see why it isn't executing.

    Good evening Sudo15. Yes, I've tried the command and according to the response I should, presumably, have access to the master admin account.

    I'm afraid that Event Viewer is a mystery to me.

    I will try safe mode and let you know.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  10. #9
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    As far as I can tell, trying in Safe mode made no difference.

    This is the command line result:

    screen1.jpg

    This is the accounts list:

    screen2.jpg
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Syncopator,

    I don't know about W8.1 but W10 forces the use of a complex password, or at least my Win 10 Pro did!
    I kept getting messages about not meeting complexity rules:

    The password does not meet the password policy requirements. Check the minimum password length, password complexity and password history requirements.

    It also did not like that it had an ampersand (&) in it until I placed it in quotes!

    User Accounts Before:
    Accounts Before.PNG
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
    (c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    The syntax of this command is:
    
    NET USER
    [username [password | *] [options]] [/DOMAIN]
             username {password | *} /ADD [options] [/DOMAIN]
             username [/DELETE] [/DOMAIN]
             username [/TIMES:{times | ALL}]
             username [/ACTIVE: {YES | NO}]
    
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>net user Administrator "mycomplexpassword" /Active:YES
    The command completed successfully.
    Accounts After.PNG
    Note: Master Admin Circled in Red which would seem to indicate (from your picture) that you have successfully enabled it.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Syncopator (2016-06-21)

  13. #11
    2 Star Lounger Syncopator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Syncopator,

    I don't know about W8.1 but W10 forces the use of a complex password, or at least my Win 10 Pro did!
    I kept getting messages about not meeting complexity rules:

    The password does not meet the password policy requirements. Check the minimum password length, password complexity and password history requirements.

    It also did not like that it had an ampersand (&) in it until I placed it in quotes!

    User Accounts Before:
    Accounts Before.PNG
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
    (c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    The syntax of this command is:
    
    NET USER
    [username [password | *] [options]] [/DOMAIN]
             username {password | *} /ADD [options] [/DOMAIN]
             username [/DELETE] [/DOMAIN]
             username [/TIMES:{times | ALL}]
             username [/ACTIVE: {YES | NO}]
    
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>net user Administrator "mycomplexpassword" /Active:YES
    The command completed successfully.
    Accounts After.PNG
    Thank you RetiredGeek.

    No, I've never seen anything in Win 8.1 reading the riot act about password complexity.

    I don't understand what your command does I'm afraid, but assume that I won't be needing anything like that anyway.

    Note: Master Admin Circled in Red which would seem to indicate (from your picture) that you have successfully enabled it.
    Oh, I wouldn't have known

    I've always had to use a password for the left hand Administrator account, and had (still have) the option of using either a password or a 4 digit p.i.n. for the other.
    Equal rights for equal responsibilities.
    Equal opportunities for equal abilities.

  14. #12
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Syncopater,

    Don't be confused by the Help for the Net User command this is the actual command:
    Code:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>net user Administrator "mycomplexpassword" /Active:YES
    The command completed successfully.
    Sorry if it confused you. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •