Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts

    Problem with jump lists in start menu and apps on task bar

    Everything's working fine then when I right click on an app on the start bar there's no jump list. Going to the start menu and right clicking, again no jump list. Then clicking the windows logo or pressing the windows key stops working. However, I can start the app on the task bar. To fix it I just need to sign out (via ctrl-alt-delete) and sign back in.
    I've downloaded and run the startmenu.diagcab app, but it found nothing. Any ideas? My other W10 PC doesn't appear to have the problem (they're both Pro).
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  2. #2
    davidhk
    Guest
    Instead of trying out whatever you can find from the web, it might be best if you run a Repair Install which should have a better batting average.

    Use this Tech Bench link and download the Windows 10 iso file:
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...brrWLRbagYCa0w


    Scroll down to Select Edition > click the pointer at the right and select your edition of Windows 10 > click Confirm.
    Click the pointer and select Language > make sure you pick the same language the computer is now running > click Confirm
    Select the bit version, 32 or 64-bit. Make sure you select the same bit version as the computer is now running.
    At the bottom, click the pointer next to Save > click Save As > navigate to a folder of your choice > click the chosen folder > click Save
    The iso will start downloading to your chosen folder.
    When it is done, go to that folder > open the folder > right click at the iso file > click Mount > click Setup.exe
    Installation will begin.
    It will allow you to keep you files, settings and apps.
    No product key is required.
    Activation will be automatic.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to davidhk For This Useful Post:

    access-mdb (2016-06-23)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Downloading now - I'll give it a whirl and report back
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    I downloaded the ISO this morning and ran it as advised. It was painless (only Speccy being removed but I've reinstalled it). So far no recurrence of the problem, but it took a while before it manifested itself anyway. So thanks for the advice. I'm going to do an image now (I assume all my previous images have the problem).
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  6. #5
    davidhk
    Guest
    You are welcome.

    Please save the iso file to an external hard drive (preferable), or an USB, for future use.

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Well, that didn't last long - I've now lost the jumplists again. I can still use the Windows logo/key but that normally fails not long after. Any suggestions?

    As expected, I can no longer use the Windows logo to get to the start page. I can logout and log back in, or restart to fix this, but it won't last all that long.
    Last edited by access-mdb; 2016-06-23 at 08:40. Reason: more info
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  8. #7
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    Well, that didn't last long - I've now lost the jumplists again. I can still use the Windows logo/key but tht normally fails not long after. Any suggestions?
    1. Make sure you have a clean machine. Run a full scan.
    2. Do you have any 3rd party security program installed ? If yes, perhaps it is too intrusive ? Disable it and see if any improvements.
    3. Under the supposition that your user account is corrupted :
    Create another user account with exactly the same privileges as this one.
    Logon to the new account. Are the same issues persisting ?
    If no, use that new account for a day or 2 to make sure.
    If all goes well after a day or 2, then go back to the original account, backup files you want to keep > delete the account.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-06-23 at 10:03.

  9. #8
    davidhk
    Guest
    If none of the above makes a difference, my only suggestion is to do a Clean Install.
    Start fresh. Keep nothing. No carry-over baggage.

  10. #9
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    1. Doing a scan now
    2 I use Windows Defender
    3 Created a new account, it failed with the same problem within a few seconds
    Looks like a clean install.
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  11. #10
    davidhk
    Guest
    Sorry to hear that.
    I have no more new ideas.

    Good luck.

  12. #11
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    2 I use Windows Defender
    Just Windows defender ?

    Please download a FREE edition od Malwarebytes and run it.
    https://www.malwarebytes.com/dl-confirm/

    After you have it installed, open it > run the update > then run the scan.

  13. #12
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    I already have Malwarebytes and will run it when the Defender scan has finished.
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  14. #13
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Neither scan found anything. However, the jumplists and windows logo problem seems to have gone away, in that it hasn't recurred since about 3pm (it was occurring at more frequent intervals than that. But interestingly, the jumplists themselves are empty (apart from when I started Access then opened a database - subsequently that one appears on the jump list). So perhaps the lists were corrupted in some way and something has cleared them fixing the problem. If this is true then I wish I knew what I did that seemingly fixed the problem. Where are they stored?
    I will only do a clean install if the problem recurs - if it does you'll probably hear the scream across the pond!
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  15. #14
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Still no screams from me (well not about jumplists). So does anyone know where those jumplists are stored? Should the problem recur my first action would be to try and delete them.
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  16. #15
    davidhk
    Guest
    They are at .....................


    %APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\AutomaticDestin aions

    Open File Explorer > copy and paste the above at the top where "This PC" is located > press Enter.

    A list of long names will appear. Those are the jump list files.

    Adding.............
    *** I don't know what happens to the AutomaticDestinations. It is supposed to be in one word.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-06-24 at 13:30.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •