Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Graphics card capabilities.

    I am thinking about learning Photo Shop but have been told that you need a Graphics Card capable of handling it. Here are 2 screenshot from DirectX Diagnostic Tool and I would like some advice on what it all means. My Samsung Ultra Book is a touch screen and when I bought it I changed the 500 GB hard drive with a 128 GB SSD. Will the Graphics Card named there be able to run Photo Shop, I am aware Photo Shop is not easy to run. Thanks for any help and advice on this.
    Screenshot (50).pngScreenshot (49).png
    Pete.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    Pete, there are a relatively few effects in PS that benefit from GPU rendering, for many people, any recent IGP, like your Intel HD4000, will do fine.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2016-06-24)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    Pete, there are a relatively few effects in PS that benefit from GPU rendering, for many people, any recent IGP, like your Intel HD4000, will do fine.
    That's great, thanks satrow; the sale's guy trying to sell my Wife a Microsoft Surface Book was saying the i5 128 GB version had no Graphics card needed for Photo Shop, but if we can use my Samsung for Photo shop we won't need the more expensive i7 version. We need to consider our options a bit more on that purchase but she needs a touch screen with super good screen pixels and running a SSD. Just saying, no question in that.
    Cheers Pete.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    That sales guy needs to brush up on specs, MS' details of the 128GB Surface Pro specs:

    Graphics

    i5: Intel HD graphics (non-GPU) • i5/i7: NVIDIA GeForce graphics (GPU)
    So you either get the dedicated (NVIDIA) with the higher end versions, or the IGPU HD (or Iris Pro 540?). "Non-GPU" = Intel GPU on the CPU chip, or non-dedicated GPU.

    Adobe's list of PS features that can use accelerated GPU (NVIDIA's CUDA):

    Photoshop requires a compatible graphics processor in your computer for the following features to function and/or be accelerated:

    Artboards
    Camera Raw (see note)
    3D
    Scrubby Zoom
    Birds Eye View
    Flick Panning
    Smooth Brush Resizing
    Image Size – Preserve Details
    Select Focus
    Blur Gallery - Field Blur, Iris Blur, Tilt-Shift, Path Blur, Spin Blur (OpenCL accelerated)
    Smart Sharpen (Noise Reduction – OpenCL accelerated)
    Oil Paint (OpenCL accelerated)
    Render – Flame, Picture Frame, and Tree
    Perspective Warp
    Also, the HD4000 can use some GL features, the IRIS Pro is fully supported:


    Note:

    AMD/ATI 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000 series; nVidia GeForce 7000, 8000, 9000, 100, 200, 300 series; older Intel HD Graphics (for example 2000, 3000, 4000 series) cards are no longer being tested and are not officially supported in Photoshop. Some GL functionality is available for these cards, but newer features may not work.
    After that, the faster the CPU runs, the better, larger file sizes will also benefit from more RAM:
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...rformance-625/
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...tion-182/page4

    More on GPU accelerated features:
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...eleration-161/

    Conclusion

    From our testing, we can now confidently state that even though the NVIDIA 600-series and Intel HD 4000 graphics are not on Adobe's compatibility list, GPU acceleration in Photoshop CS6 works great on those cards.
    Last edited by satrow; 2016-06-24 at 02:23.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2016-06-24)

  7. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    BTW, you can use the Snipping Tool to take a shot of just the window you want, not the whole screen.

    cheers, Paul

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2016-06-24)

  9. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    557
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    Graceful degradation of function based upon the hardware you have. Amazing what happens when you program properly!

    The only thing I could ask further of, is why doesn't Adobe make this matter clearer in their documentation? They can officially support what they want, yet still make it clear that 'unsupported' will probably still work.

  10. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, I think there are features that require a compatible video card to work. Based on the information I found out, the minimum amount of graphics processor VRAM supported for Photoshop is 512 MB. You could check it in details also.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •