Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    Vista to W7 from 1 computer to a different computer

    A while back I had posted a question/thread about upgrading my daughter's laptop from Vista to W7 on the same computer.

    It turns out that wasn't feasible with a W7 OEM disk because of the plethora of programs she has on her current Vista system that would have to be reinstalled.
    She's a professor, of design and architecture and has over 150 programs on her current machine.

    So ,looking at her upgrade "problem" from a different perspective, if she bought a newer laptop with W7 on it, could she use some kind of "easy transfer" cable and software to migrate all her programs over and retain all her settings etc.?

    As always, thanks for your help,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Check out PCMover from Laplink. It is not free.
    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-07-03)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,186
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Over 150 programs is asking for trouble IMO. I expect you (she) are in for a long process of re-installation / tuning.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    We'll see how it goes. She needs them/uses them in her work/teaching.
    Dick

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Regarding Laplink, does anyone know the answer to the following:

    Can you use Laplink to move from Vista Enterprise on a 32-bit laptop to a laptop with 64-bit Windows 7 SP1 Professional?

    Thanks,
    Dick

  7. #6
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    If you have a look at this post - PC MOVER for XP 32 bit to Windows 7 64 bit - it seems the answer is yes (and very successfully, apparently), even 6 years ago.

    Bear in mind that with the Home version of Laplink PC Mover you also have both a money-back guarantee and an on-tap remote assistance tech (assuming you don't mind allowing remote assistance).

    Laplink also offer a 'Live Chat' service before you purchase, so you can ask any specific questions of someone who is (hopefully) more knowledgeable about the product(s).

    Hope this helps...
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-07-11 at 10:46. Reason: Added Live Chat info

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-07-11)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •