Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts

Microsoft Office365 support - an uncalled for remote access request

I have a Office 365 Home subscription. Recently I granted access rights to a different account and the 1 TB OneDrive storage was not showing up on the associated Microsoft account. Tried a few times, to no avail, so I contacted Microsoft support, via chat, to have the problem solved.

I explained the problem and the first thing the person on the other side wrote, after my explanation was "I would love to remote access your computer to solve the problem".

Of course, I told her in clear terms I wouldn't grant such access, as it was absolutely not required to solve a problem with a cloud service, manifesting its effects online, not in any computer. When asked how come she needed remote access to solve such a problem, she just said "to be able to solve the problem faster", to which I replied she didn't need access.

She ended up suggesting removing access rights and granting them again, which eventually worked, but I didn't wait to see the result to end the chat session. I provided the worst possible feedback on my experience, through the satisfaction inquiry that always ends such a session.

It's just mind blowing that one can get these unjustified, stupid requests from people who obviously are working for Microsoft or Microsoft partners. Why would she want remote access that had no relevance at all for the problem she was supposed to help with? With so may scams being enacted through remote access, shouldn't Microsoft be more careful about the behavior of its employees and stop them from such mistrust inducing behavior?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    In my experience with phone support in the USA, the first line people have a script from which they are loathe to deviate. That is regardless of industry or service.
    Joe

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    Not just in the USA.