Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    recover from dead disk

    Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm updating to win 10 and don't get this.

    Win 10 has a clone feature. If the disk drive dies and must be replaced, how can I restore the clone if what I've got in the computer is a blank disk?

    TIA for any help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Elbert,

    You need to make a recovery (CD/USB) to boot from to restore the clone.)

    In the windows search box type: Recovery Drive and it will lead you through the process.

    I'd recommend a USB drive of 8Gb in size. NOTE: it will completely erase the drive so make sure it doesn't contain anything you want to keep.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Will it boot up automatically from that USB ?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Will it boot up automatically from that USB ?
    You would have to make sure USB boot is enabled in BIOS and that it is capable of USB boot.

  5. #5
    Lounger -Moonshine-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Elbert Treble

    What Windows 10 clone feature are you referring to?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Something else to do before the disk dies then.

    This cmd from a Command Prompt (Admin) will restore the old F2, F8 and F12 boot keys -

    bcdedit /set {default} bootmenupolicy legacy

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Will it boot up automatically from that USB ?
    Sudo,

    That depends on the BIOS/UEFI settings.

    On most Dell computers you can rapidly tap the F12 key in the early stages of the boot process to get the Boot Menu which will allow you to select the device to boot from.

    You can also set your BIOS so that the 1st boot device is the USB device then the HDD/SDD but this can lengthen the boot time.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Sudo,

    That depends on the BIOS/UEFI settings.

    On most Dell computers you can rapidly tap the F12 key in the early stages of the boot process to get the Boot Menu which will allow you to select the device to boot from.

    You can also set your BIOS so that the 1st boot device is the USB device then the HDD/SDD but this can lengthen the boot time.

    HTH
    When I briefly tried Win 10 on my Toshiba Win 7 laptop, after the Start menu went dead where I couldn't do a thing, I found that it booted up too quickly or that the F keys no longer functioned.

    Fortunately I already had it set to check DVD and USB before HDD in its BIOS config.

    Re-enabling the legacy keys may be a better option so that it doesn't impact on the Start up times, although given how quickly Win 10 does boot up, it would be negligible.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 126 Times in 123 Posts
    For those with laptops that have usb boot choice ahead of cd-dvd and HDs, don't have a nonBoot usb stick in any of the ports -- on my Acer laptops, it hangs the boot process.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    When I briefly tried Win 10 on my Toshiba Win 7 laptop, after the Start menu went dead where I couldn't do a thing, I found that it booted up too quickly or that the F keys no longer functioned.
    Sudo,

    That's why I routinely turn off Fast Boot and besides with a SSD as the boot drive it doesn't save enough time to be worth the problems it can cause. YMMV.

    FYI: I also turn off hibernate, of course I also turn off my machine if I am leaving the house where I couldn't hear the UPS beeping!

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    For those with laptops that have usb boot choice ahead of cd-dvd and HDs, don't have a nonBoot usb stick in any of the ports -- on my Acer laptops, it hangs the boot process.
    You shouldn't really have any storage devices plugged in on boot as it confuses Windows with it not knowing what to boot from.

    As it goes through the boot sequence it will be looking for the first device that has an OS.

    Are we in danger of hijacking this thread

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 126 Times in 123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    You shouldn't really have any storage devices plugged in on boot as it confuses Windows with it not knowing what to boot from. As it goes through the boot sequence it will be looking for the first device that has an OS. Are we in danger of hijacking this thread
    a snippit from Thread Starter's opening: "...Win 10 has a clone feature. If the disk drive dies and must be replaced, how can I restore the clone if what I've got in the computer is a blank disk?..."
    Restoring either a clone or a full image requires the making and proper usage of either a USB boot stick or a DVD boot. We are filling the bucket of: proper usage
    However, I do believe it's time to ask thread starter: How is it going? Did you succeed?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How is it going?

    [How is it going? Did you succeed? ]

    Not too great. I upgraded my desktop and laptop with just a few quirks I had to work around. But when I upgraded my wife's Asus AIO, the screen went dead and I haven't yet figured out how to fix that problem.

    But I appreciate all the help. I think I've got the picture as far as restoring from a clone is concerned. Thanks to all.

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    418
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    A point of clarafication: For an explanation of the difference between "cloning" and "imaging", readers may find this article at PC magazine to be of use. The two operations are somewhat different.

    If you have previously made a clone then you can simply swap your hard drives if the original becomes unbootable (i.e., replace the original with the clone).

    On the other hand, if you image your original drive (C: ?) then you can boot from a prepared thumb drive (or DVD) and restore the image to your original hard drive. (If the original is damaged beyond repair then you can substitute a new drive and restore the image to it.)

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to RockE For This Useful Post:

    Vincenzo (2016-07-10)

  16. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Can you get anything to come up on the screen by tapping the spacebar as you switch on and continue to tap it ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •