Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Insider Preview build 10.0.14388.0 released to FAST & SLOW rings

    See
    Announcing Windows 10 Insider Preview Build 14388 for PC and Mobile for features (none), fixes, and known issues.
    Joe

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Joe,

    I loaded it today and I still can't get the Scan Offline to work.

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    davidhk
    Guest
    Instead of using Settings, etc, have you tried using..........

    Elevated Command prompt > PowerShell Start-MpWDOScan > Enter

    or

    Elevated PowerShell > Start-MpWDOScan > Enter

    Did they come up with bsod also ?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    Running from w/in Powershell does nothing!

    Running from elevated command prompt products BSOD.

    Thanks for the recommendations.

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    David,

    Running from w/in Powershell does nothing!

    Running from elevated command prompt products BSOD.

    Thanks for the recommendations.

    I am using another laptop to post this reply.

    I am running the Elevated Powershell (Start-MpWDOScan > Enter), and it is scanning as I speak.

    I use only Windows Defender as my Real-time Protection, plus Malwarebytes free edition as my On-demand Protection. Nothing else.

    Perhaps you have another 3rd party AV program installed ?


    Adding : offline scanning just finished.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-07-15 at 13:30.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    Yes I do - Malwarebytes Premium!

    Update: Disabled MBP and then the PS command worked but still BSOD'd!



    Update2: Tried Deactivating MBP w/same result.

    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2016-07-15 at 13:41.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    davidhk
    Guest
    My speculation............... to much messing around with registry tweaks. You broke something.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    Ok, Installing 14390 now...I'll test it before tweaking anything.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    davidhk
    Guest
    I would do a Clean Install this time to restore default settings.

    14388 didn't fix anything, no reason to believe this one will if you keep your current settings.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-07-15 at 19:08.

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    My Win10 Insider Preview system upgraded to build 14388.0 about Thursday. Since the upgrade Win10 becomes unresponsive soon after the Desktop is displayed (at least the mouse pointer stops moving and the left/right buttons do nothing). Then after a few minutes a blue screen is displayed "Windows has encountered an error and needs to restart..." (or similar) with "DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION".

    I have gone into Safe Mode with Networking and the system does not crash. There are many DCOM errors listed in the Event Viewer System log "DCOM got error 1084 attempting to start the service WSearch...".
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Further to my #10 post I have since looked at http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...d-to-FAST-ring

    I have a backup image from 10 July (build 14379.0), so I think it makes most sense to restore that then see if the "DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION" etc. problems are fixed in build 14390.0.
    Last edited by Coochin; 2016-07-15 at 20:32.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    This morning I made an Image and then tried a System Reset.

    BSOD!

    On the good side it didn't make any changes.

    Next up, download the ISO and try a completely clean install!.



    Update: Looks like MS has shut down the downloading of ISO files for Insider Versions all I can get is blank pages!

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...reviewadvanced

    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2016-07-16 at 10:16.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  13. #13
    davidhk
    Guest
    To : RetiredGeek

    Assuming you have not deleted anything since you installed build 14390.......

    Go to C : > $Windows~BT > Sources > locate Install.esd.

    You can convert the esd file to an iso file.
    I did that every time after a new build was installed.
    Sources......... install.esd.jpg
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-07-16 at 11:00.

  14. #14
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by davidhk View Post
    To : RetiredGeek

    Assuming you have not deleted anything since you installed build 14390.......

    Go to C : > $Windows~BT > Sources > locate Install.esd.

    You can convert the esd file to an iso file.
    I did that every time after a new build was installed.
    Sources......... install.esd.jpg

    For the benefit of those who may not know how to convert esd file to iso file.

    Here is how I do it:

    Example. Using insider preview build 14390.............
    Insert my external hard drive > create a new folder > name it " 14390"
    Go to C : > $Windows~BT > Sources > copy the Install.esd to folder 14390
    Use this link and download the ESD Decrypter tool to the same folder.
    Unzip the ESD Decrypter tool and extract in the same folder
    Right click at the decrypt.cmd > Run as Admin
    Type number 2 > Enter.

    ISO file will be converted into the 14390 folder.

    14390 iso file.jpg
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-07-18 at 11:40.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to davidhk For This Useful Post:

    RetiredGeek (2016-07-17)

  16. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Update: Looks like MS has shut down the downloading of ISO files for Insider Versions all I can get is blank pages!

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...reviewadvanced
    Only 14366 and 14372 are available there right now.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •