Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    PVB, FL. USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win10- everything seem fine but error in settings update?

    I have this in settings, security update: Update for Windows 10 Version 1511 for x64-based Systems (KB3106246) - Error 0x80070643

    Is this important, if so ---- how to fix same?
    " Even a broken clock is right twice a day. "

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    PVB, FL. USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    recovered back to win 7 then upgraded to win 10 again, same issue.
    " Even a broken clock is right twice a day. "

  3. #3
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    "0x80070643" is a .NET error code. Is your Windows 7 fully updated?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    418
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 66 Times in 63 Posts
    I had that issue back in November or December (not sure now) when I let GWX (Windows Update) try to upgrade my Windows 8.1 to 10.
    I used the Media Creation Tool, to do a repair install, and the problem (whatever it was) no longer appeared.

    Hope that helps (you didn't say what method you're using to upgrade).

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    PVB, FL. USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I went to a MS link for my upgrade.

    and win7 was fully updated at the time.
    " Even a broken clock is right twice a day. "

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moonuser View Post
    I went to a MS link for my upgrade.

    and win7 was fully updated at the time.
    Go to Control Panel > Programs and Features and click on "Turn Windows features on or off" in the left pane. Expand .NET Framework (you will likely have more than one instance).

    If any checkboxes under .NET Framework are empty, put a check, then click on OK. After Windows has finished adding the features, run Windows Update again.

    Also I recommend using the Media Creation Tool and running the upgrade from a USB stick.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    PVB, FL. USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks bbearren;

    I did have to put a couple checks into boxes and it did try to update something but the error is still there.
    " Even a broken clock is right twice a day. "

  8. #8
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by moonuser View Post
    Thanks bbearren;

    I did have to put a couple checks into boxes and it did try to update something but the error is still there.
    I recommend using the Media Creation Tool and running the upgrade from a USB stick.

    Create a new Administrator's level user account and set it up with a password. Try the upgrade logged into that account.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    If I'm reading them correctly, various topics about this issue seem to suggest that the "0x80070643" error indicates that a necessary cab file hasn't downloaded (or maybe it's corrupt?).

    If so, then bbearren's last suggestion should be a good one.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    PVB, FL. USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, i'm back to a image backup due to=

    When I tried to create a new admin user account it insisted I give my (then) account a password first, I did and then the trouble started, I restarted to find it asking for the password I just gave it BUT it would not accept it....Da!!!

    There was no way out other than recovery.

    I think I'll try with win 7 for a good while now :-)
    " Even a broken clock is right twice a day. "

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •