Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Pin a Web Link to the Start Menu?

    Is there a way to pin a web page (link) to the Start Menu? I cannot seem to find any way outlined.

    -----
    I found it. You can do it if you use Edge as the browser. I haven't yet found any way with IE or Firefox
    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2016-07-18 at 19:48.
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    davidhk
    Guest
    Using Edge ...........

    Example : Windows secrets Lounge

    Open Edge > open windowssecrets.com > top right, click the 3 dots > click Pin this page to Start.


    Edge ........ Pin this page to start.jpg

    Edge ..... pin to Start.jpg



    I don't know how to do the same using IE11.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-07-18 at 19:59.

  3. #3
    Lounger -Moonshine-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    You can add a URL to the All apps (left side of Start Menu) then also opt to have it/them as a Tile(s).



    Open the Start Menu/Programs folder by highlighting and selecting the text below:

    %appdata%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs

    . . . copy, then paste it into the ‘Search Box’ on the Taskbar.
    Click the entry to open the folder:



    Minimise the folder.
    Open your browser with the URL you want on view.
    Select and drag the ‘Favicon’ of the opened webpage :



    . . . down to the minimised folder (keep the left click down) where it will open for you to drop the shortcut into the folder. Be careful not to drop it into any existing folders within the Programs folder as it/they will be harder to find.

    The URL shortcut will then appear in the All apps part of the Start Menu, where it will appear with new next to it.
    You can either r/click and op to Pin to Start as a Tile, or simply drag it over to the right so it appears as a Tile.


  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Create a shortcut on the Desktop modifying the url as in the following example:-

    C:\Windows\explorer.exe http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2654993

    You may then change the icon if you wish.

    Drag the shortcut onto the Taskbar and delete the one from the desktop, which is no longer required.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    @ Moonshine

    If you had clicked on "More" instead of "Pin to Start" you should have seen "Pin to Taskbar", which is what the OP wants.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #6
    Lounger -Moonshine-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    @Coochin

    "Is there a way to pin a web page (link) to the Start Menu?" - where is the Taskbar mentioned?

    If a URL is required in the Taskbar, I'd do as in this link : http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...=1#post1059966
    Last edited by -Moonshine-; 2016-07-25 at 07:30.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,150
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 305 Times in 265 Posts
    [QUOTE=-Moonshine-;1061710...where is the Taskbar mentioned?...[/QUOTE]

    After clicking on "More" in your last screenshot in your #3 post.

    Did you even check under "More"?
    Last edited by Coochin; 2016-07-25 at 07:34.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  8. #8
    Lounger -Moonshine-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    The OP wants to "Pin a Web Link to the Start Menu "

  9. #9
    Lounger -Moonshine-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    @Coochin

    "Did I even check under More?"

    Yes - this is what you see when you check More in a URL link:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •