Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How can I add program to "Default Program List"?

    I want to set IrfanView as my default choice for photo files, but it's not listed under the list of programs. LOTS of Microsoft programs, and I think most of the programs I've added, but not all.
    • I've found file associations, but that means going through each file type one-by-one.
    • I selected the default image choices in IrfanView when I installed it, and they are shown as checked when I return to IrfanView to check the associations.


    Thanks, as always...

    PS - I searched through Win10 Help and Bing w/o a solution. So I'm forced to turn to the experts!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,147
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 267 Times in 256 Posts
    I usually right-click a file, choose Open With and get a list. If what I want is not there I scroll down to pick the choice at the bottom about Choose another app and wade through the list of Installed programs to make a choice.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    I usually right-click a file, choose Open With and get a list. If what I want is not there I scroll down to pick the choice at the bottom about Choose another app and wade through the list of Installed programs to make a choice.
    That's what I want to do (my other PC is Win XP), but on Win 10 my only choices are:
    • Open [i.e., no "with", no R cursor...]
    • Set as Desktop Background
    • Print
    • Rotate Right or Left
    • Cast to Device
    • Scan with Windows Defender
    • Cut or Copy
    • Create Shortcut, Delete, Rename
    • Properties

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,941
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 182 Times in 175 Posts
    What filetype(s) are you trying this with? My photos are jpgs and I have the 'open with..' just like Berton.
    The world is full of people whose notion of a satisfactory future is a return to the idealised past. Robertson Davies

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,777
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 1,551 Times in 1,405 Posts
    Open IrFanView
    Click Options
    Click Set File Associations...
    On the right you'll see a button labeled Control Panel with a Win10 message above it.
    Click the Control Panel Button (or you could just go to Default Programs directly)
    irfanviewdefaults.PNG
    Click Set this program as default.

    If that doesn't work you can fall back using the Choose Defaults for this program and then select all the file types you want to open using IrFanView.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    What filetype(s) are you trying this with? My photos are jpgs and I have the 'open with..' just like Berton.
    The choices shown are for a JPG file (I just checked: same choices on GIF file)
    I am using the standard (AFAIK) Windows 10 File Explorer.

  7. #7
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by hobkirk View Post
    That's what I want to do (my other PC is Win XP), but on Win 10 my only choices are:
    • Open [i.e., no "with", no R cursor...]
    • Set as Desktop Background
    • Print
    • Rotate Right or Left
    • Cast to Device
    • Scan with Windows Defender
    • Cut or Copy
    • Create Shortcut, Delete, Rename
    • Properties
    Use this tutorial and install Open With right click context menu:

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/3...dows-10-a.html

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by davidhk View Post
    Use this tutorial and install Open With right click context menu:

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/3...dows-10-a.html
    It seem bizarre that I need to download and run something, but THANK YOU, it was easy and fast...

  9. #9
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by hobkirk View Post
    It seem bizarre that I need to download and run something, but THANK YOU, it was easy and fast...
    You are welcome.
    Happy computing.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    199
    Thanked 89 Times in 76 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hobkirk View Post
    It seem bizarre that I need to download and run something
    Doesn't it, though? I haven't fiddled much with Win10 yet, but see similar problems with default programs and file associations, when my choice isn't the MS choice.

    I got IrfanView sorted afaik after a quick wrestle, but TXT files refuse to submit. They open in Notepad if clicked, despite me doing all the default dances with my text editor Editplus--eg it shows as the default for .txt, when I set file assocs it asks if I want to keep using Editplus, and TXT files display the Editplus icon in my file mgr.

    Not a big deal, and I suppose uninstalling Notepad would fix it, but it should be stable and easy to do.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradford UK
    Posts
    779
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 156 Times in 140 Posts
    Go to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Default Programs\Set Default Programs then follow the instructions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •