Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    iNET Interactive
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 24 Posts

    Keeping Windows 7 running for the long haul


    Field Notes

    Keeping Windows 7 running for the long haul


    By Tracey Capen

    Back in 2010, we wrote about preparing Windows XP for the long haul. At that time, Windows 7 was coming online, and many XP users were reluctant to upgrade. Some things never change.

    Fast forward just six years and Windows 7 is now the "classic" operating system. Fortunately for everyone who's not jumping on Windows 10, Win7 will be around for a while here's how to keep it that way.

    The full text of this column is posted at windowssecrets.com/top-story/keeping-windows-7-running-for-the-long-haul/ (opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    626
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    "Use this as a quick reference for key Windows 7 topics."

    Good article Tracey, thanks.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I loaded win10 on my Dell laptop and have windows media player just fine. Doesn't look the exact same but works fine.

    GD

    Windows Media Player
    Version 12.0.10011.16384
    Operating System
    Version: 10.0.10586 System Locale: en-US
    Service Pack: 0.0 User Locale: en-US
    Build Lab: 10586.th2_release_sec.160630-1736 Geo ID: United States
    Type: Workstation DRM Version: 11.0.10011.0
    Architecture: x86 Indiv Version: 2.9.0.1
    Processors: 4

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Media player is still part of a standard Windows 10 install, it's Windows Media Centre that has been removed.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    If anyone is interested in doing a full backup (not individual files), and wish a free solution, get the free Seagate (or WD) DiskWizard
    The only requirement to get it free is you have one of their drives (Seagate or WD) visible to the program.
    It is a free version of Acronis.

    Download the free Seagate DiscWizard program -
    http://www.seagate.com/au/en/support...ds/discwizard/
    Install the program, and immediately after when it is running choose the option to create a bootable CD.
    There is a sub option to set the CD to default to boot into into the mini OS. If you don't set that, you have only a few seconds each time you boot the CD, to avoid it booting into windows.
    I always use the bootable CD to create an image, and to verify that image. (You don't want Windows running when imaging.)
    If later you need to restore an image, you again do it from the bootable CD

  6. #6
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RobCr View Post
    If anyone is interested in doing a full backup (not individual files), and wish a free solution, get the free Seagate (or WD) DiskWizard
    The only requirement to get it free is you have one of their drives (Seagate or WD) visible to the program.
    It is a free version of Acronis.

    Download the free Seagate DiscWizard program -
    http://www.seagate.com/au/en/support...ds/discwizard/
    Install the program, and immediately after when it is running choose the option to create a bootable CD.
    There is a sub option to set the CD to default to boot into into the mini OS. If you don't set that, you have only a few seconds each time you boot the CD, to avoid it booting into windows.
    I always use the bootable CD to create an image, and to verify that image. (You don't want Windows running when imaging.)
    If later you need to restore an image, you again do it from the bootable CD
    This is basically Acronis True Image Home, and an older version than the current version. it also lacks a lot of the features of the full version, which may suit some folks just fine.

    If you want a free and reasonably robust program, Macrium Reflect Free works just fine for me. This program has a nice WinPE bootable environment, and can even create a recovery option right in the Windows Boot Menu. Many other features listed on the info page.

    My point is, everyone should have some sort of backup options. It doesn't matter to me how you do it, just BACKUP.
    Last edited by bobprimak; 2016-07-27 at 02:56.
    -- Bob Primak --

  7. #7
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Media Player is still around, although it is crippled compared with its former self. Commercial DVD playback is missing, among other things.

    These days one of the Windows store Apps being heavily pushed as a Media Center replacement is Plex. Warning: Plex is not free to use if you want to have most of its features.

    Kodi (XBMC) got banned from the Windows Store over trumped-up allegations of piracy in some of its default channels. I still use Kodi in Linux. And yes, there is possible access to pirated content with little or no warning from Kodi that the content is illegal.
    -- Bob Primak --

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am continuing to run Windows 7 Professional. I use Paragon Hard Disk Manager 15 Suite for backup. Currently, I have two internal hard disks. I use the second hard disk to backup the C partition that resides on my first hard disk. (I also use an external hard disk to back up my entire first internal hard disk). I have a relatively new computer system, and I have created a RAM disk using ROG RAMDisk, which came with my ASUS motherboard. When I examine (from Windows Explorer) the backup of my C partition, it appears that either the backup has lost track of the junction points to my RAMDisk or the junction points have lost track of the RAM disk. If I were to delete the C partition on my first hard disk and copy the backup of my C partition from the second hard disk to the first hard disk, would I (or would I not) have enabled the junction points (if they have been returned to their original location on my first hard disk) to once again see my RAM disk?
    Last edited by Apogee; 2016-07-27 at 11:33.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Apogee:
    Since columnists don't usually respond to questions posted in this section, and since there is a whole community of people here willing to help out, if I were you I would post your query in the Maintenance Section of this site.

    Also, welcome to the Lounge.

    Dick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •