Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts

    Help - 2nd. Network created on Boot

    Hello;
    All my searching was fruitless; here we go:

    Win 7 Pro SP1, last updated this today ca. 9:30AM.

    After EVERY boot (restart, cold boot) the system shows TWO networks - and quite understandable nothing goes except cached pages. Please see the attachment.

    Current kludge: In Network and Sharing Center DISable and then re-enable the network adapter.

    I have checked startups in msconfig and with AutoRuns; did not see anything unusual or suspicious.

    Network troubleshooter worthless.

    Any tips or hints are highly appreciated. TIA
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Hi Eike,

    I had this nearly a fortnight ago on my main Win 7 PC. Have a look at this article: How to Set Unidentified Networks to be a Private or Public Network Location. I used Option 2 (a REG file) to fix the problem and it did the trick immediately.

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    @Rick:
    Thanks Rick; but that is not the primary problem.

    The second network for the same network adapter gets created upon EVERY boot, whether restart or after a shutdown.

    And with two networks defined on the same adapter nothing goes - except cached pages.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    In the registry, how many profiles do you have listed under:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkList\Profiles

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-07-27)

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Rick,
    Thanks.
    I will try to get a peek remotely and will report back tonight.
    Last edited by eikelein; 2016-07-27 at 08:55. Reason: typo
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Are you using a VPN?

    My setup looks remarkably similar to yours when I have an active VPN.

    networksharing.PNG

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Browni,
    No, no VPN.
    And it is a customer's machine that I only have occasionally access to.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    @Rick Corbett:
    I just could remote into his machine and took a screen shot of his part of the registry.

    After the restart there were again two networks.

    Network 4 is the one that works after disabling and re-enabling the network adapter. I am clueless and get a bit concerned because frankly I believe that this "bug" does not justify an attempt to re-install Windows 7.

    Rick, thanks for you attention to this matter.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by eikelein; 2016-07-29 at 16:41. Reason: typo
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Eike,

    There are several suggested solutions here: Unidentified Network appears every Windows 7 reboot and stops NW access

    See if any of them can help.

    I remember I had this problem with Vista. Unfortunately, I no longer remember how I solved it .
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    eikelein (2016-07-30)

  12. #10
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eikelein
    After the restart there were again two networks.

    Network 4 is the one that works after disabling and re-enabling the network adapter. I am clueless and get a bit concerned because frankly I believe that this "bug" does not justify an attempt to re-install Windows 7.
    On my own PC I suspect it may have been caused by an iTunes update (i.e. to the Bonjour/mDNSResponder service) and I was just lucky that the fix in the sevenforums.com article worked for me.

    I hoped to be able to reproduce the issue on a Windows 7 VM but have failed, even after installing the usual suspects (iTunes 7, iTunes 8, Photoshop CS3, etc.). Even though the VM now shows Network 4 in the Network and Sharing Center (and the registry shows 4 network profiles under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkList\Profiles), I still can't force the additional unidentified network to appear.

  13. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    OMG,
    Post #8 was about the dumbest post I ever made on ANY forum.

    To get remotely at the customer's registry he had to have the two networks situation cleared; thus the peek into the registry is not what we needed, it simply could not show the error condition.

    I apologize to all involved.
    Last edited by eikelein; 2016-07-30 at 15:01. Reason: typo
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  14. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Special thanks to ruirib and post #9; that is what I will check out first should I ever run into this again.

    In the meantime the customer told me that all is well with his computer and the two network condition does not happen any more.

    He claimed NOT to have done ANY updates or changes or installed or removed anything at all.

    I know that in life miraculous things can happen but I don't believe in miracles in computers; lastly they are only dumb machines.

    For me that issue is now closed.
    Last edited by eikelein; 2016-07-30 at 15:08. Reason: typo
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •