Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    878
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts

    Windows 10 Insider Build 14393.5 Very Busy --- Doing What?

    My Windows 10 Insider Build 14393.5 informs me that my "device is up to date", yet it is very busy downloading ...what? It is a fresh installation with no other software installed, yet more that 300MB has downloaded since I checked Windows Update about 10 minutes ago and was informed that I am up to date? (Virtually nothing was uploaded during this time)

    Last edited by petesmst; 2016-07-29 at 08:00. Reason: Corrected typos
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Mobo (Military Class V); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 500GB SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 NVME SSD; 512GB SAMSUNG 850 PRO SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    346
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by petesmst View Post
    My Windows 10 Insider Build 14393.5 informs me that my "device is up to date", yet it is very busy downloading ...what? It is a fresh installation with no other software installed, yet more that 300MB has downloaded since I checked Windows Update about 10 minutes ago and was informed that I am up to date? (Virtually nothing was uploaded during this time)

    Could be store apps are updating. I just had these updated minutes ago!



  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    878
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
    @djohnson: I checked; that's not it ...
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Mobo (Military Class V); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 500GB SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 NVME SSD; 512GB SAMSUNG 850 PRO SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,136
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,172 Times in 1,025 Posts
    Do you have any other third party software that phones home automatically for updates?

    Did you try Task Manager to see if you could tell what process what the culprit?
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    878
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
    @JoeP517: That's just it: It's a "clean install" (just Windows 10, with no other programs/apps at all). "Service Host - Local System" showed the most activity during the download, but I was unable to see which specific task was to blame.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Mobo (Military Class V); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 500GB SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 NVME SSD; 512GB SAMSUNG 850 PRO SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,136
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,172 Times in 1,025 Posts
    Is the system networked?

    What are your advanced update settings? Windows Update | Advanced Options | Choose how updates are delivered
    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    878
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
    @JoeP517: Thanks for your interest. My Windows Insider Setup is not networked (I am not set up to obtain updates from "more than one place"); There are no restrictions on when I receive/install updates (fast Ring).
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Mobo (Military Class V); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 500GB SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 NVME SSD; 512GB SAMSUNG 850 PRO SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,004
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 804 Times in 643 Posts
    Have you tried something like Sysinternals' TCPView to see what remote addresses/endpoints are connected?

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've got something similar going on. I have numerous programs installed, including CoreTemp, but, that doesn't explain why I am sitting here doing nothing but reading emails and my CPU usage jumps around from 14% to 44%. Up and down with nothing apparent that should be using the CPU that much. Win 7 doesn't do that when restored on this same machine.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    878
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
    @Rick Corbett: Good suggestion. I'll check with Sysinternals' TCPView when (if) I see such activity again.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Mobo (Military Class V); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 500GB SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 NVME SSD; 512GB SAMSUNG 850 PRO SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,004
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 804 Times in 643 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by petesmst
    I'll check with Sysinternals' TCPView when (if) I see such activity again.
    Probably better to use Nir Sofer's CurrPorts. Make sure you use Run as administrator and the Options menu to setup the display how you want. CurrPorts lets you set up logging and, in Advanced Options, set up the info to log and AutoRefresh interval. Make sure you tick the Log Changes option in the File menu.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    petesmst (2016-08-03)

  13. #12
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    878
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
    @Rick Corbett. Thanks, I'll give it a try (I f the phenomenon recurs, that is!!)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Mobo (Military Class V); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 500GB SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 NVME SSD; 512GB SAMSUNG 850 PRO SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •