Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts

    Switched off PC starts without anyone touching it

    Not sure if this is hardware or Win 10, but hopefully someone can decide.

    I upgraded my church's office desktop to Win 10 a couple of weeks ago, with only a couple of minor issues (which we have found ways of getting round). However, today one of the office staff told me that the PC starts a short while after being shut down via clicking the windows logo, then the power button and then shut down. This happened today, so it's not seemingly someone restarting it we're not aware of. Does anyone have any idea why this should be - or if there's a setting doing this? It only seems to have started after I upgraded to Win 10 (hence first comment).

    One thing that's also different to any other PC I've used is that when it's shut down, it can be started by pressing the windows key on the keyboard. Not sure if this is relevant or not.
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    It appears that the power button is set to put the PC into sleep or hibernation mode. Check the settings in the Control Panel.

    Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Power Options\Choose what the power buttons do

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    It could be a scheduled task set (in the Conditions tab) to "Wake the computer to run this task" - good luck on finding this!

    It seems unlikely this is Wake-on-LAN...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Calimanco, I checked the power options, but they didn't seem out of the ordinary. But then we weren't using the power button to switch off. As it's a desktop, there's no sleep button (but then I've never seen one anyway...).
    BATcher, I'll have a look when I get the chance, but why would it start under Win 10?
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    There could be some suggestions in these articles, although I don't think MS has a built in RDS into Win 10 to switch machines back on.

    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=how+do+i+stop+win+10%27s+spying

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    BATcher, I'll have a look when I get the chance, but why would it start under Win 10?
    Yet more new scheduled tasks?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,141
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    (Hang on a sec whilst I adjust my tinfoil hat... ah, that's better.)

    As it's a desktop I'm going to assume it's using a wired network connection. Just in case it's Microsoft's telemetry or P2P services, try this:

    1. Right-click on Start.
    2. Choose Device Manager.
    3. Expand the Network adapters entry.
    4. Double-click on the entry for the ethernet adapter.
    5. Select the Power Management tab.
    6. Remove the tick from the Allow this device to wake the computer checkbox.

    desktop-LAN-power.png
    Click to enlarge

    (7. Let us know the result. )

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Thanks Rick, I'll try that, but it will probably be later this week. It's certainly a wired network connection.
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •