Lounger
    Thanks

amateur composer needs help with volume multi-file output

I am an amateur composer of modern light classical music , I am looking for a program that can control volume during a recording , I will export the parts of my music to separate files ex winds, horns ,strings and percussion as .wav Then I want to play the music highlight sections of a file and change the volume of selected sections . When I'm satisfied export all the music in sync as wav. and that's it I tried audacity but it makes volume control very complex for nothing I want simple ex select a part of file click reduce volume 15% for example . Does anyone have any ideas of cheap or free programs that will do this?

Bob Forrest

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi Bob,
    Could you clarify a few aspects of your process.

1. How are you generating the track for a given instrument? Are you physically playing it and recording this using Audacity or other software? Or are you using software to write out the music for the track, select the instrument, and generate the audio file for the track?

2. Why is each track being exported to a separate file, rather than being consolidated into a single Audacity file that still keeps the tracks separate?

3. In what way do you find volume control in Audacity complex? In the (older) version I have, it entails selecting a passage, clicking on "Effect" in the top menu, clicking on "Amplify" in the dropdown menu, setting the desired volume change in decibels, optionally playing a sample of the result-to-be, and applying the change.

Dave

Lounger
    Thanks

amateur composer needs help