Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,525
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

    Auto-loading Windows Virtual Desktops at Startup

    Is there a way to have a specific program load at windows startup on, for instance, desktop 2?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,208
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,193 Times in 1,039 Posts
    There are several ways to start programs when Windows loads. You ought to know that. What are you really trying to do?
    Joe

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,525
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Have them / a program start and move to, for instance, Desktop #2.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    349
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    Is there a way to have a specific program load at windows startup on, for instance, desktop 2?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    No there is not. You would need to move it manually after startup.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,525
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Ah well...nice idea though.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,900
    Thanks
    420
    Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,434 Posts
    Chuck,

    The short answer is that it is possible. See example here.

    Unfortunately, I don't know C# so I can't play with this. I tried getting it into PowerShell but the C# generates a compilation error and as I said don't know it well enough to debug it.

    Maybe someone conversant in C# can jump in here and get this one done?

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,525
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    So, RG, I'll just satisfy myself knowing it is possible and therefore fodder for someone to take and run with it, as nearly always happens with computers.

    Thnaks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware, US
    Posts
    1,225
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 101 Times in 90 Posts
    I've seen it mentioned a few times in various tech sites but have never been interested in having programs auto-load on startup so never pursued it.
    Graham Smith
    DataSmith, Delaware
    "For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •