New Lounger
    Thanks

Why do template styles sometimes not change text properties when selected?

Hi, this is a problem that I've noticed in newer versions of Word. It wasn't a problem I came across when using '97-2003.

I'm a bid writer and use templates a lot. Often I have to respond to questions in a document created by another company, in which case to keep my own responses consistently formatted, I usually create a new paragraph style based on 'normal' style but using a different colour or font. Being an imaginative person, I normally call this style something like "Response".

What I've noticed is that sometimes in my documents, when I'm trying to change the formatting of a paragraph already in the document, clicking the style I want to change it to in the styles dialogue box either:

• has no effect, and the text stays the same and is left with the original 'style'
    • has some effect, for example, changing the line spacing, but doesn't change the font colour
    • works properly and completely updates the text to the style I've chosen.

Why does this happen? What am I missing?

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    The formatting applied by a style can be over-ridden by local formatting.

To get the Paragraph style attributes ONLY then you can remove any local formatting by selecting the text and pressing Ctrl-Space and Ctrl-Q. These two shortcuts reset the paragraph and font formatting.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Andrew Lockton For This Useful Post:

Felixity (2016-08-10)

New Lounger
    Thanks