Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts

    Cumulative update for Anniversary Upgrade already!

    This security update includes improvements and fixes in the functionality of Windows 10 Version 1607. It also resolves the following vulnerabilities in Windows:

    3177356 MS16-095: Cumulative security update for Internet Explorer: August 9, 2016
    3177358 MS16-096: Cumulative security update for Microsoft Edge: August 9, 2016
    3177393 MS16-097: Security update for Microsoft graphics component: August 9, 2016
    3178466 MS16-098: Security update for kernel mode drivers: August 9, 2016
    3178465 MS16-101: Security update for Windows authentication methods: August 9, 2016
    3182248 MS16-102: Security update for Microsoft Windows PDF library: August 9, 2016
    14393.51.PNG

    KB3174695
    Last edited by Browni; 2016-08-09 at 15:39.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I had an additional update that took me to Build 14393.67. Had several Office updates as well.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    The .67 is an Insider Preview build. I've got that as well now.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Ditto here on .67 and they have really fixed IE and Edge. Both are very snappy now. Good going. Jean.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This update did not set a restore point and has killed .net (approx 2 random errors/hr. from w3wp.exe) and has killed IIS on my development machine. The problems started yesterday (8/11) so I tried to restore - only restore point was on 8/10. Did it but the problems remain. Beginning to wonder if Microsoft tests anything before pushing it out the door anymore. This has killed this computer on a very busy day. The .net errors call up my VS2015 debugger (why would I want to debug a Microsoft program) with a permissions error. Looked online to find a Microsoft statement that the errors are by design! Well fix the design. Frustrated, mad, don't want to move to linux...
    Last edited by zinethar; 2016-08-12 at 21:58.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware, US
    Posts
    1,165
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 99 Times in 88 Posts
    Didn't take them long to realize the laid an egg with the AU. So much for all the unpaid Insider testing.

    P.S. This is why I have deferred upgrades and hacked the policy to set updates to notify only (Pro). This allows me to get a complete image prior to any changes. Assuming MS doesn't deprive me of the option(s) stated.
    Last edited by gsmith-plm; 2016-08-12 at 19:37.
    Graham Smith
    DataSmith, Delaware
    "For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gsmith-plm View Post
    Didn't take them long to realize the laid an egg with the AU. So much for all the unpaid Insider testing.

    P.S. This is why I have deferred upgrades and hacked the policy to set updates to notify only (Pro). This allows me to get a complete image prior to any changes. Assuming MS doesn't deprive me of the option(s) stated.
    My development machine is running Pro. I saw the metered connection thing but not the policy change. I'm surprised that remains (but glad it is). My fear is that I will wake up tomorrow to find it pushed again and again have a broken machine. This new patching method is terrible for people who rely on their machines!

    BTW rolling back to the 9th did not restore the error. Had to go back to last build (1511). Funny because when updating to anniversary edition (had to do work to get it to update) it ran fine from the 3rd to the 9th. So something in that "fix" killed everything. Can't believe that they would change the way errors are handled without a ton of prior warning (even their own programs crash).

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    I had an additional update that took me to Build 14393.67. Had several Office updates as well.

    Jerry
    See this now :

    Lat.jpg

    Are you on this too now ? Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2016-08-13 at 19:17.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My work machine is staying on 1511 until I'm sure this gets sorted out. The 1607 was ok once I solved the too small system partition problem so it installed.It was the cumulative update (not sure of its final number - my test machine has 14393.67). I originally thought it was the updates to all those office files but I could roll that back which did nothing to fix the trouble.Obviously didn't kill everyone so must bejust for a certain combination of things. I have Pro, IIS hosted website, and VS2015 and latest .Net installed. It killed IIS so badly that not only did the sites not work but IIS could not even be opened to check things and threw a hard error which had to be dismissed in order to do anything else. That was when the w3wp.exe errors started popping up 2 at a time with apparent random error numbers. until the screen was flooded.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    See this now :

    Lat.jpg

    Are you on this too now ? Jean.
    Yes. No issues so far.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    After reading responses I just noticed that different processors are involved. I have Haswell i7 3.5GHz. Not sure that is relevent but might be.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •