Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Anniversary Update killed Windows Key (among others)

    Hi,
    After a forced update to AU I tried to see the new startup menu. To my surprise the Win-key on the keyboard nor the Win-logo on the screen would react. Tried some other things like clicking on Edge-icon on the toolbar. Got Class not registered. Same with the Shop icon. Links in my Outlook 2007 mails wil not show up in my browser, have to copy them by hand.
    I can start Taskmanager by ctrl-shft-esc and Start new task, browsing to the exe. Other icons like Explorer, Word are active.
    Anybody familiar with this problem?

    TIA
    Sjors

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    I'd download the MCT to create a new Win 10 bootable media and run the upgrade again or see if the Upgrade now button will from the same page.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/soft...load/windows10

    You can use Windows USB/DVD Burner Tool to create either a bootable USB or DVD.

    http://wudt.codeplex.com/

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    You can use Windows USB/DVD Burner Tool to create either a bootable USB or DVD.

    http://wudt.codeplex.com/
    Why do you need that when MCT will do it for you?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    It's what I always use to create bootable media from ISOs and this says you need a DVD burner -

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/soft...load/windows10

    I can't remember if the MCT only creates bootable USBs

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    before trying a reinstall try:
    1. Open PowerShell as an administrator. To do this, click the Start button to open the Start menu, go to All apps > Windows PowerShell and right-click on Windows PowerShell.
    Click Run as administrator from the dropdown menu. You may see a pop-up window asking you if you want to allow this app to make changes to your computer -- click Yes to proceed.

    2. Type or paste the following code into the PowerShell window:
    Get-AppXPackage | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"

    and press enter.

    3. Restart Windows.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    It's what I always use to create bootable media from ISOs and this says you need a DVD burner -

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/soft...load/windows10

    I can't remember if the MCT only creates bootable USBs
    It tells you how to use the built-in DVD burner of Windows 7/8/10.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,607
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 869 Times in 831 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    It tells you how to use the built-in DVD burner of Windows 7/8/10.
    I still prefer Windows USB/DVD Burner Tool and recommend it.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Jerry,
    Just tried your suggestion (administrator mode). but nothing seems to happen, at least not after 15 minutes. Just a double white prompt gets in and a blinking cursor. Are you sure you spelled the command correctly?
    I pasted it so no typo here.
    TIA
    Sjors

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Found the right expression:
    Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach{Add-AppxPackage-DisableDevelopmentModeRegister “$($_.InstallLocation)AppXManifest.xml”}
    Starting Windows again, will let you know

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm afraid that didn't help
    Anybody else before I try to reinstall the latest update?
    BTW When I add another user things work fine!

    TIA
    Sjors

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi, reinstalling the latest update didn't help. Seems the account was corrupted by the update.
    Tnx anyway

    Sjors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •