Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quartz Hill, CA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 10 update-start menu doesn't work

    Start menu won't work. MS tech support took over my pc and got it to work. So I ended session. But when I went to click on anything in start menu, nothing worked. Edge won't fire up (not that I ever use it--but still . . . )

    I have tried every fix on the web. Task manager won't fire up.

    I have these problems even after the August 9 update.

    All restore points were eraced so I can't revert back. And like an idiot, when the anniversary update installed (I thought everything was fine) I eraced previous back ups and did a new back up of anniversary update. Ooooops! So I have to live with this. But it should be noted that I have IOBits start button 8. It reverts start menu to windows 7 style. That works! Go figure!

    Anyone have a clue how to get task manager and Udge to work?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    You could download the Media Creation Tool and run the update again.

    To avoid us asking about trying various things a little more detail than "tried ever fix on the web" might be helpful.
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quartz Hill, CA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I ran sfc /scannow did a reg fix. Even used some little program they gave me. didn't work. I don't want to reinstall and lose everything.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Try the latest free version of Tweaking.com - Windows Repair Free/Pro.
    Joe

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    420
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jamesbiddle View Post
    I ran sfc /scannow did a reg fix. Even used some little program they gave me. didn't work. I don't want to reinstall and lose everything.
    First: If you're afraid of "losing everything" you should consider making an image of your hard drive first.
    Second: Performing an in place reinstall (after using the MCT to create installation media) will keep your programs and data, while simply reinstalling the operating system.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quartz Hill, CA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. Running it right now. Will report back the results.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quartz Hill, CA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jamesbiddle View Post
    Thanks. Running it right now. Will report back the results.
    It appears it worked. I can't thank you guys enough for helping resolve this problem.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Great!!! Glad you got it resolved.
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •