Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Garrisonville, Virginia
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Exclamation Script error in newly upgraded Windows 10

    My wife is likely one of the LAST people to finally upgrade (from Windows 7 Home) to the free Windows 10. Initially it appeared to be fine, but shortly afterwards she began getting very obnoxiously a persistent "Script Error" as shown in the attachment. She is still using IE11 as default browser, but a switch to Edge as default makes no difference whatsoever, and the popup comes up just as frequently with either browser.

    The thing that is so frustrating about this, is that as often as the script error pops up (while online only), it can only be shut off perhaps 1/3 or perhaps 1/2 of the time. The rest of the time it freezes the monitor and when that happens the only solution I know of is a restart or shut down in order to regain control. This is only a very temporary solution though, because it always returns (with either browser) and I do not know what to do about it.

    I am an old retiree who has learned A LITTLE about computers, but am in no way, shape or form an expert at this. Can anyone out there offer any help here in SIMPLE ONE STEP AT A TIME DIRECTIONS PLEASE? In comparison, I have a desktop and a laptop that have been running on Windows 10 for a number of months now (on our home network) with no trouble, so this issue is on the newest upgrade only. PLEASE help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

    David E. Cann

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,202
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    That is a browser error, which I assume is in Edge. Edge is known to be a work in progress.
    Try using Internet Explorer instead, or Chrome or Firefox.

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. You can attach a sceen shot directly instead of attaching a PDF / doc.
    1. Open Windows Snipping Tool.
    2. Snip.
    3. Save as PNG.
    4. Attach the PNG to your post using the "Insert Image" icon in the post editor, then "Browse", "upload".

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    Check whether Display a notification about every script error is turned on at IE11, Tools, Internet Options, Advanced, Settings, Browsing.

    The error you attached seems to be from an ad network (banner quizzes). Is it always the same? Is it only on certain sites?

    There are some more things to try at How to troubleshoot script errors in Internet Explorer

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    decann (2016-08-13)

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Garrisonville, Virginia
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Paul, I assume you cannot help with my query. Thank you for your reply but is it meant only as a comment on my chosen method of creating the attachment. As for the browser, my wife is getting the same type (not identical) of script error using IE11 as well as MS Edge as I noted in my original query. Thank you for the reply.
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    That is a browser error, which I assume is in Edge. Edge is known to be a work in progress.
    Try using Internet Explorer instead, or Chrome or Firefox.

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. You can attach a sceen shot directly instead of attaching a PDF / doc.
    1. Open Windows Snipping Tool.
    2. Snip.
    3. Save as PNG.
    4. Attach the PNG to your post using the "Insert Image" icon in the post editor, then "Browse", "upload".

    David E. Cann

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Paul, I assume you cannot help with my query. Thank you for your reply but is it meant only as a comment on my chosen method of creating the attachment.
    Paul posted those simple instructions so that more people will look at your post because most people will not open an attachment ( including myself ) unless it is specifically asked for. Although you can post as you wish, more people will look at your thread when posting "normally".
    BruceR's post is a good place to start with your problem.

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Garrisonville, Virginia
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Bruce, the error we are refer to is always labelled "Script Error" at the top, but the message body below is always the same basic format, it is not identical. It occurs most commonly on the webpage in the attacment, but does also occur with a small number of others.

    On that subject, it is puzzling to me (I'm NOT anywhere close to being a technician in any way) that my own desktop on the same home network is a virtual clone to my wife's but does not have this issue at all. The most notable difference between the two is the PC we are talking about was upgrated from Windows 7 Home to Windows 10 a day or two before MS stopped the FREE upgrades.
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Check whether Display a notification about every script error is turned on at IE11, Tools, Internet Options, Advanced, Settings, Browsing.

    The error you attached seems to be from an ad network (banner quizzes). Is it always the same? Is it only on certain sites?

    There are some more things to try at How to troubleshoot script errors in Internet Explorer

    David E. Cann

  8. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    427
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    For what it's worth, I just now visited that "Ruth" page and had no script errors. I opened the page in Opera, in Edge, and in Internet Explorer 11. None of the three had a problem.
    Can you try that page again? (I read the URL from the address bar in your PDF.)

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Garrisonville, Virginia
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    There has been no change at all. Same issue in the same handful of frequently used webpages, NONE of which is any problem on my own desktop PC.
    Quote Originally Posted by RockE View Post
    For what it's worth, I just now visited that "Ruth" page and had no script errors. I opened the page in Opera, in Edge, and in Internet Explorer 11. None of the three had a problem.
    Can you try that page again? (I read the URL from the address bar in your PDF.)

    David E. Cann

  10. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    427
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    Is her Windows 7 up-to-date with all Microsoft Updates? (Or, at least, do all her browser settings match yours?)
    Did you check to be sure that "notification about every script error" is turned OFF?
    Have you followed the link BruceR suggested in post #3?

    We may have to find something different by comparing your two setups.

  11. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Garrisonville, Virginia
    Posts
    392
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    RockE, as I noted previously, our computers are virtually clones, and the pertinent settings in this case are the same as well. As also noted a time or two, she just upgraded a couple of weeks ago to Windows 10 so cannot change anything any longer in Windows 7. Likewise your question about "notification of script errors" also noted above a couple of times, and also the link in BruceR's link the answer for which you will find in my reply to him. Also our browser settings are the same as best they can be with her using IE11 as default and me with Firefox.
    Quote Originally Posted by RockE View Post
    Is her Windows 7 up-to-date with all Microsoft Updates? (Or, at least, do all her browser settings match yours?)
    Did you check to be sure that "notification about every script error" is turned OFF?
    Have you followed the link BruceR suggested in post #3?

    We may have to find something different by comparing your two setups.

    David E. Cann

  12. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by decann View Post
    There has been no change at all. Same issue in the same handful of frequently used webpages, NONE of which is any problem on my own desktop PC.
    I think you should download Chrome or Firefox and use one of them instead of IE or Edge. I suspect the ride will be much smoother once you do.
    As things stand, if one program does not do what you need and a free alternative is better, there is no real reason to keep using the worse app, IMO.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •