Thanks

Excel 2010 (Windows 7) Need help with macro to fill down a column

Good Friday afternoon. I need to fill down a column with a set of six characters. The numbers are insulin doses. Four cells are the same, but the other two increase by 1 each time the sequence repeats. Here's an example:

11 UNITS
    Y

OI
    UNIT

The next six will look like this:
    12 UNITS
    Y

OI
    UNIT

And the next six:
    13 UNITS
    Y

OI
    UNIT

I need to go all the way down to 100 units. Then I can copy and paste the column into my hospital system instead of having to type it all out. I know I need a macro, but I'm not very good with writing macros on the fly. I can record them and even edit VBA if it's not too complicated. I have no idea even where to start. Does anyone have a suggestion? Thanks a lot!

Thanks
    Sooner Jim,

You don't need a macro. You don't even need a formula. If you are starting at row 1 with 1 unit, Just select the first six rows in the column then using the fill handle, drag down to row 600. The ## Units in row 1 and 6 will increment as long as you have the fill handle enabled in Advanced Options.

If there is a space between the sets then select the first seven and copy down

HTH,
    Maud

Thanks
    Maud,

I admit to amazement. I tried that procedure, but the list started out in the middle of the worksheet, and it wouldn't increment the fields. When I tried on a fresh worksheet at cell A1, it worked like a charm. Thanks so much. Have a great weekend!

Jim

Thanks
    It worked so well, my boss wants me to do more. Is there a way to do this where the dosage goes up by fives (5 units, 10 units, 15 units?) I have to go all the way to 300 units! It doesn't seem to work naturally as it did the other day with 1 unit increments. Thanks a lot!

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    A nice solution from Maud.

To increment in, say, multiples of 5:
    Set up your first 6 entries [A1:A6], e.g. A1=5, A6=5