Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Windows Updates deletes some passwords

    When I update windows, some of my passwords are not kept and I have to re-enter them. Is this a known issue?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Curious,

    What passwords? I'm assuming you're talking about Website passwords. This is just another reason (security being the main one) you should be using a Password Manager IMHO.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes, web sites, for instance the New York Public Library.

    I don't like idea of a password manager because of the hack threat. Paranoid? OK

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Curious,

    You're passwords are much more at risk storing them in your browser!

    My favorite PW manager is RoboForm Desktop (no web storage for me). They have to hack both my computer then break my master password. Not very likely.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Really???? Forgive my naivete--that is something to ponder. Thanks

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,730
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    RetiredGeek, exactly which URL and which download EXE or ZIP is RoboForm Desktop, my Google for RoboForm Desktop included everything but that particular name.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Roland,

    It's a choice in the installer. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    @curious "When I update windows, some of my passwords are not kept and I have to re-enter them."
    I'm not familiar with that.
    Do you mean that before updating Windows, you do not have to enter your password?
    Do you mean you have an account with the New York Public Library and you need a password to access your account?
    Usually you don't need to enter your password because the account remembers you?
    Then when Windows Updates come in you do need to enter your password?
    --- Then you do not need to use your password again until the next time Windows Updates come through again?

    How about here on Windows Secrets?
    Do you have to enter your password each time you log in?

    When you mention "some of my passwords are not kept " it sounds to me like there is something else going on vs. Windows Updates.

    I don't use a password manager but it look's like I should consider RG's recommendation RoboForm desktop also.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes, before updating, if I have “remember me,” I did not have to enter the password for my accounts. After updating, I do have to enter the passwords. I agree this may not be connected to updating???
    Thanks for your time.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    Thanks for your answer. Maybe the issue is related to the browser
    --- Browser security updates?
    Then there's cookies: is it possible the cookies for your website are being deleted?

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    538
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Browser security is up-to-date. As far as I know, cookies for websites are not being deleted.

    This happens on Pale Moon and Firefox, same sites affected...Fortunately, not many sites. I was primarily curious (ahem) as to cause, rather than the inconvenience.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •