Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Post Cannot Backup Win 7 to an external disk.

    When attempting to backup the hard drive I get this error message.
    "Windows could not launch the automatic backup job for the following reason: Element not found. (0x80070490)
    I have prowled the Internet and have not found an effective solution to correct the problem.
    Thanks,
    Izzy

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    What backup software are you using?

    Try using Macrium Reflect Free.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    What backup software are you using?

    BACKUP SOFTWARE: WD SMARTWARE VER: 2.4.16
    FOR MY PASSPORT 1TB HARD DRIVE.

    i WILL DOWNLOAD THIS APP AND SEE WHAT IT'S ALL ABOUT.
    Try using Macrium Reflect Free.
    Thanks for the link.
    Izzy

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Or Aomei Backupper - simpler interface, more features, still free.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    I think I would like to know why it isn't working - have you tried a sfc /scannow from a command prompt run as an administrator to see what that reports ?

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 124 Times in 121 Posts
    Ethernet error? Would that be NAS related? I'm wanting to learn here.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    I think I would like to know why it isn't working - have you tried a sfc /scannow from a command prompt run as an administrator to see what that reports ?
    I pulled this from one of the solutions to fix my problem

    Method 1:
    Check if the Volume shadow Copy Service is Automatic. (Did this with no change in error)

    Method 2:
    Run sfc/scannow (Did this with no change in error) I also checked the associated log file and no error messages.

    Method 3:
    Place the system in Clean boot to disable all third party applications and try
    Follow these steps to place the system in clean boot. I got to this method but it is a long convoluted attempt to fix, maybe. There must be an easier way before I go through this as a last resort.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    A clean boot isn't convoluted.

    You can do it in two parts - first just disable all under the Startup tab to see if you can do the backup.

    If that doesn't resolve then under the Services tab, check the box to Hide all Microsoft serves then Disable all - Apply - OK - Restart, but it is essential that you check that box before hitting Disable all etc.

    Depending upon which antivirus program you are using whether it will reinstate itself when hitting Apply after Disable all, but I wouldn't expect an AV program to interfere with a backup.

    To eliminate though you would need to manually disable it in its settings.

    To revert to a normal boot, just check the radio button for Normal startup.

    I suppose the "convoluted" bit could be adding each item back to find the culprit should the problem be resolved in a clean boot, but trouble shooting can be a case of elimination and patience.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Oh don't jump through all these terrible hoops.
    Just use a good, reliable imaging backup program like Macrium Reflect Free.
    If you can see the backup drive in Windows Explorer (the file explorer, NOT IE!) MR will do the job!
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    I've never had any problems with Windows Create a system image and if that isn't working then there's something wrong with the machine.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    mledman (2016-08-14)

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Or Aomei Backupper - simpler interface, more features, still free.

    cheers, Paul
    Paul, Thank you for the link, I downloaded Aomei Backupper and as you said it is easy and much simpler.
    I am currently backing up my HDD, I will still pursue the fix just so I can get Win 7 back to it's OEM condition O/S wise.

  13. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    My experience matches Sudo15's

    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •