Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Windows 10 Anniversary Upgrade Will NOT Install on HP

    The Win 10 Anniversary Upgrade refuses to install on my HP laptop. Spent many hours on two tries with same result. Don't want to go for three! After starting the upgrade process, am advised that all is ready on my system for the upgrade from previous Win 10 version. Download appears to go fine. Installation runs for hours and finally aborts at 40% in what appears to be the final phase with an error message, a red box stating, "Windows could not configure one or more components. To install Windows, restart the computer and then restart the Installation." No error codes or any additional information about the problem provided. As stated above, tried this once by restarting PC and using the Upgrade link placed on my desktop during the first try. Same result. Hope someone can help, as I'd really like to get the new version installed!

    Don Eager

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    From your other post at http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...be-a-mixed-bag you asked:
    HP 1607 Upgrade Issue
    In reply to the last post, does the HP software referenced have exactly that name? I checked my task manager on the HP and there is nothing by that exact name or even close. I further checked Control Panel>Programs and features and found nothing either. Are there any other ideas or suggestions on how I can get 1607 to install?

    Don Eager
    Answer: "HP Protect Tools Security Manager" has been renamed to "HP Client Security Manager".
    HP put out a directive that any type of Drive Encryption & security manager programs has to be removed for the AU to install and they will no longer support them for Win 10.
    Do you have an antivirus program? That may also need to be disabled/uninstalled prior to the upgrade.
    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have nothing with that name installed on my HP. The only installed apps I have with "HP" in their names are:

    HP 3D DriveGuard
    HP CoolSense
    HP Documentation
    HP LaserJet 400 M401
    HP Launch Box
    HP On Screen Display
    HP Power Manager
    HP Quick Launch
    HP Setup
    HP Software Framework
    HP Support Assistant
    HP Update
    HP LaserJet 400-M401_HelpLearnCenter.

    It isn't obvious to me that ANY of these have anything to do with drive encryption or security management, but I could be wrong.

    My anti-virus is Windows Defender, and one would suppose that it would be compatible with the Windows 10 Upgrade!

    More ideas needed! Thanks.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Some people have had success by disconnecting from the internet once the update is downloaded.

    The other thing you could try is to download the ISO, create a bootable USB drive, and run setup from the USB drive.
    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    I had to upgrade using the ISO disk as it used to hang after the reboot at 75% using the download buttons.

    It still hung using the disk but a power shutdown and restart gave me Windows is attempting to recover the installation which it eventually did.

    I nailed my problem down to a wireless driver, but for yours to actually stop at 40% with an error message then it is finding something else.

    Do you have any other HP components listed in msconfig/Services/non-MS services or Task Manager/Processes ?

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger E_OGRADY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had a similar experience with the last release, it turned out to be a password protected folder on my Desktop, I think from memory it was Wise Folder Hider.
    What is happening is that there is something on your system that the install cannot access.
    What model HP I run a HP pavilion G6

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Some people have had success by disconnecting from the internet once the update is downloaded.

    The other thing you could try is to download the ISO, create a bootable USB drive, and run setup from the USB drive.
    If I download this for the third time, how do I know when to disconnect from the Internet?

    I have no idea what an ISO is, how to create a bootable USB drive or how to run setup from the USB.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I found the following. The only non-Microsoft services with msconfig that appear to be HP related are:
    HP DS Service (stopped)
    HP LaserJet Service (running)
    HP Quick Synchronization Service (running)
    HP Service (running)
    HPWMISVC (running).

    Task Manager /Processes revealed the following HP items:

    HP Status Alerts
    hpwuSchd Application
    HP Service
    HP Quick Synchronization Service
    HP Quick Launch VMI Service
    HP Message Service
    HP LaserJet Service.

    I confess that I have NO IDEA what most of these are, but they appear to be unrelated to drive encryption or security manager programs.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Don Eager View Post
    If I download this for the third time, how do I know when to disconnect from the Internet?

    I have no idea what an ISO is, how to create a bootable USB drive or how to run setup from the USB.
    I've found a MCT tutorial with pictures for you but I'm not sure about disconnecting from the 'net as I think it checks for updates, but that is optional.

    http://www.wintips.org/how-to-create...indows-10-usb/

    You would disconnect from the 'net once you have created the bootable USB.

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK. I think I have successfully created the Win 10 USB. What do I do now? I know I should disconnect from the 'net but then what? Should I run setup.exe from the USB? Sorry for all the questions, but this process is not obvious to me and there is no explanation for what to do next in the link I used to print out the USB creation instructions.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    When I went from 10240 to 1511, I used the MCT on a USB and then I just ran setup from the USB. I haven't done the AU ( 1607 ) yet as I am waiting for MS to fix some of the problems with it.
    According to the instructions, you can also boot from the USB if your computer is capable of booting from USB.
    Hope this helps

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,604
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    You haven't said which version of Windows you are upgrading from but before I did my Win 7, I created a system image onto external media.

    You'll want to use different media for this if you use an external HDD so that when you create images of your Win 10, you won't be overwriting them.

    While in Win 10's recovery mode there is an option for me to factory reset with the Toshiba Recovery, I created a set of recovery disks which are a copy of the recovery partition and I had set my laptop to boot from DVD and USB before the HDD before I upgraded.

    While I had no intention of reverting to Win 7 on this machine, I have had to factory reset etc. and reinstall 10586 because of problems I could only assume were caused by the Autumn Update.

    The ISO that you have on your USB could well be that of the Autumn Update build (14393) so I think it would be prudent to have something to fall back with.

    Boot up Windows - open Windows Explorer then plug in your USB.

    AutoPlay should open for you to click on the Setup.exe but if it doesn't then just double click on that drive.

    There is some user interaction during the procedure but when it comes to the final bit, click on Custom Install and not Express Install so that you can turn off the "spying" bits and the one about updates where it can use your bandwidth as a peer 2 peer to download updates to others.

    I think it took about 1˝hrs on mine but there are a few more tidying up bits after, but it will tell you not to switch off.

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Making the AU from the USB I created scares me to death. I don't know if I can revert to Win 10 (1511) if this doesn't work. I have had to use that capability three times so far while trying to upgrade the traditional way. The third attempt was just yesterday with the same result, the installation aborts at 40%, even though I disconnected from the Internet after the download completed but before start of the installation. I guess the statement that insanity is repeating the same behavior and expecting a different outcome is true! If I don't receive any additional recommendations, I guess I'll just keep running 1511 on the HP for a while. Maybe a future release will address this issue.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    I don't know if I can revert to Win 10 (1511) if this doesn't work
    Hence all the warnings/advice on this forum about having a working backup plan like an external HDD clone/image.

    Maybe a future release will address this issue
    That's why I checked on "Defer Upgrades" for now. There have been many problems crop up with the AU release ( in fairness, many had no problems at all ), so I am hanging back until more reports of fixes come out. 1511 works just fine for my needs right now. YMMV

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    VA, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I do a system image every week and did an extra one before attempting the AU. The AU worked without any issues on my Dell. Just the HP that's presenting a problem. I'll wait for a later upgrade, I think. Where did you check "Defer Upgrades"? I haven't seen that option.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •