Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Start menu disappears after a few seconds

    I've done a search but didn't find anything, but could have easily missed it. When I click on Start Menu icon it displays for a few seconds then disappears. How can I reset it display time?

    Why does M$ always seem to "improve" things that were working before? That is a rhetorical question.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  2. #2
    davidhk
    Guest
    Your "signature" section says Win 7 64-bit.
    Assuming you have yet to update the info ?

    If you create system restore points regularly, please do a system restore. Pick a date when you did NOT have this problem as your restore point.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4...dows-10-a.html

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Occurred after the upgrade to Windows 10, i.e. no restore point for 10.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  4. #4
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
    Occurred after the upgrade to Windows 10, i.e. no restore point for 10.
    Are you running Windows 10 Insider Preview Build 14905, or Windows 10 Anniversary Update 14393.51?

    If not sure, type winver into the search box > press Enter key.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It says version 1511 (OS Build 10586.545)
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  6. #6
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
    It says version 1511 (OS Build 10586.545)
    What is stopping you from installing the Anniversary Update, do you know ?

    In any event, on August 2nd, Microsoft released the Anniversary Update, and since then it has been updated to .............
    Version 1607 (OS Build 14393.51)

    Use the link below and click the "Get the Anniversary Update now" button. That will get you to install the update.
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...update-history

    Please note that the article also shows you the "Windows 10 update history".

    Hopefully, the Anniversary Update will fix your "Start Menu disappearing" issue.
    Last edited by davidhk; 2016-08-17 at 22:48.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had checked for updates via the settings and it said OS was current. Go figure.

    I'm downloading and updating.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  8. #8
    davidhk
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by deeppow View Post
    I had checked for updates via the settings and it said OS was current. Go figure.

    I'm downloading and updating.
    It is quite likely that there will be some "unfinished businesses" after Anniversary Update is installed, i.e. re-enable your system protection so that you can manually create restore points, etc.

    You may also have questions after the installation.
    If we are in different time zones, I may not be able to answer back in time.
    I'm in EST zone.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    NM is on mountain time.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Didn't help the problem, Start menu displays for about 4 sec then disappears.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  11. #11
    davidhk
    Guest
    Are you using a 3rd party Start Menu program such as Classic Shell ?
    If yes, uninstall it.

    If the above does not apply, question :
    If you restart the computer, will the Start button show up ?
    If yes, what does it do if you RIGHT click at it ?
    Does it give you this..............

    Right click at Start button.jpg

  12. #12
    davidhk
    Guest
    I might have misunderstood your reply. English is my 3rd language.

    When you said " Start menu displays for about 4 sec then disappears. "

    What do you mean by "start menu" ?

    Do you mean this ?.....................

    Start Menu.jpg

  13. #13
    davidhk
    Guest
    Re : post #11

    If you can RIGHT click at the Start button, please follow these instructions to run a system file check:

    Right click at Start button > click Command Prompt (Admin) > at the flashing prompt, copy/paste this.......
    sfc /scannow

    > press Enter.
    It will take quite sometime.
    When finished, it will give you one of the 3 reports...............(paraphrasing)
    1. No integrity violation.
    2. Found corrupt files and repair successful.
    3. Found corrupt files but unable to repair.

    If the report is #1, your solution lies elsewhere.
    If the report is #2, check if your problems have been resolved.
    If the report is #3, use this method................
    In the same Command Prompt (Admin) windows, copy and paste this command...........

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    > press Enter.
    Again it will take some time.
    When finished, it will give you a report.

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    David,
    English is your 3rd language! Heck it is my only language and I still have problems understand it sometimes.

    If I left click on the Window icon (lower left) of taskbar, I see the image in your #12 post and after about 4 sec it disappears. My cursor is remaining on the icon and not being moved. If I right click on the Window icon, I see the image in your #11 post.

    I want to keep the #12 image till I take the cursor off the icon.

    I'll work through your instructions and be back.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ran "sfc /scannow" and result in #2. Restart etc but issue still remains.
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz using 1.3V
    -- G.Skill DDR3 2400 (2*2Gb) 9-11-11-31
    -- Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    -- EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    -- Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Samsung 840 Pro 500G
    -- Corsair 1050 in Corsair 730T
    -- Win 10 Pro

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •