Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Home Network trouble

    I am currently running Windows 10 (not the Anniversary Upgrade yet) as is my wife's computer. When we had Windows 7 we were connected (via a cable) and we were able to look at each others computer. Since the upgrade to Windows 10 I can't access her computer (but she can access mine). I can see her computer in Network Places but when I click on it I get the following message.

    Network Problem.JPG
    (Sorry I can't seem to make the image bigger). It says i don't have permission. I am not sure how to give myself permission. I suspect that there is something that changes on my wife's computer during the upgrade but I can't figure it out. When I look with Windows Explorer her disks/information is all set to share.

    Anyone have an idea of what I can do to get permissions?

    Thanks in advance.

    Bob
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Findlay, Ohio
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    The "login faiure" implies you are not using the same settings on the PCs.
    If you are using a Home Group it might be worth removing it from both machines and recreating it on the W10 box and then joining the W7 box.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul,

    Thanks for the reply. I am not using Home Groups (but maybe I should). This was just configured as peer to peer. So in the case of the other computer, it can see and read all of the files (program and data) on my computer. But I can see the other computer but can't seem to get access.

    Thanks.

    Bob

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    As it's P2P you probably need to use different credentials to access the W7 machine.
    Open File Explorer and select File > Map network drive > Map network drive.
    Choose a drive, tick "connect using different credentials" and browse to the folder you are sharing.
    The credentials to use are the ones you use to log in to the W7 machine.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul,

    Thanks for the reply. Both machines are running W10. I suspect you are correct in that it is P2P networking. The one machine can see everything on the other machine (not just some folders). The C and D drives are available. Neither machine uses any kind of log in.

    I looked under File in File explorer on both machines and the option of Map network drive is not available.

    Thanks.

    Bob

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RDPaterson View Post
    ...I looked under File in File explorer on both machines and the option of Map network drive is not available...
    Right-click on "Network" in File Explorer's left pane then left-click on "Map network drive".
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Coochin,

    Thanks. I found it but that doesn't not appear to be part of the solution. I can now find Map Network Drive but the drives I want to see are C and D and they aren't listed.

    Bob

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Drives are not listed until you browse the remote PC. Are you able to do this?

    Your machines must have a login account, that's how Windows works. Look in Control Panel, Users.

    cheers, Paul

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul,

    Thanks for the reply. When I try to browse the remote PC I get the message I originally posted. If I just highlight the remote PC and right click I get the following
    Network error.JPG

    And neither PC needs a login to start Win10.

    Thank you for all your responses but I think I will see if I can get someone to come over and reconnect my machine to my wife's.

    Thanks again.

    Bob

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    I would start again with a homegroup, then add the folders you want to share.

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul,

    Thanks for all your advice. I would rather avoid starting a new process such as Homegroup if I can avoid it.

    Bob

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Why? It's really easy.
    Besides, you have a full backup of both machines don't you?

    cheers, Paul

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Paul,

    Thanks for the reply. Yes I have full backups for both machines. I learned a long time ago the dangers of not having back ups. In fact the real reason I want to link the two machines is to take advantage of the File History feature in W10. I already have my wife's libraries 'backed up' on File History on my machine and I want to do the same with my files on my wife's machine. But since currently my system can't access her system I can't get File History to work.

    I don't know if Home groups will provide the same functionality and if going that way will somehow create a problem with the link I have already established.

    Thanks.

    Bob

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •