Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Password v. PIN

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Password v. PIN

    I had set up my PIN, and gotten pretty comfortable with the change. Then I decided I wanted to invoke automatic login, so I ran netplwiz.exe.

    The (Microsoft) program works fine with passwords, allowing for the setup of auto-logins. It does not, however work with PIN's. It stops and says that the password is incorrect...

    Interesting foible I would say. I would have thought that MS would have reworked netplwiz.exe ro work with PIN's. But I guess not.

    Chuck Billlow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    I too had set up a pin but wanted automatic login. But I used Autologon (also MS) and that works fine with a pin. Perhaps netplwiz isn't pin aware because it's quite old, whereas Autologon is newer so is pin aware. Whatever the answer it worked for me.
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,800
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Chuck,hello.
    I use a PIN on all my machines and I like it. This even if on the lappy I do not have a numeric keypad, I am used to this top row use as I started all this on a C= 64.

    A great Vegas day to you. Jean.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Okay...thanks guys.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Malcolm, I could only find autologon from Sysinternals, which works fine with passwords but not with PIN's. Is there another program I should be finding?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    Malcolm, I could only find autologon from Sysinternals, which works fine with passwords but not with PIN's. Is there another program I should be finding?

    Chuck
    Hmmm, I will have to investigate tomorrow - just too hot here tonight and I'm away to my bed!
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    I tried to use SysInternals AutoLogon to accept my PIN but no go here either!

    Maybe we need a secret pass word or something?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,655
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Hmmm,

    I've been using PIN entry for quite some time now on both PC & tablet with no issues.

    I've just ran 'netplwiz' on the tablet, deselected the option for password login and clicked OK. As expected it prompted for my user name and password which I duly entered and clicked OK again. Upon restart it took me straight to the desktop. No PIN or password required.

    I'd already set my PC up this way so in my experience it just worked as expected.

    PC - x64 Insider Pro build 14905.1000
    Tablet x86 Insider Home release preview build 14393.82

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I couldn't find Autologon by MS. I found Sysinternals' version, but that didn't work.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Browni, I too can get netplwiz to work -- but only with a password, not a PIN. Although "locally" just a password is fine, that sidesteps the added protection that the PIN was/is supposed to provide.

    As for Netplwiz, that has worked fine for me for years, but by entering my PIN as a password I have also ignored the point of the PIN.

    Chuck
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2016-08-24 at 18:58.
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,755
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    By invoking automatic login, you're ignoring the point of both password and PIN (and "added protection").

    A PIN is a device shortcut for a password. If you're never going to enter a password, you don't need a PIN.

    Sysinternals has been part of Microsoft for 10 years.
    Last edited by BruceR; 2016-08-24 at 22:29.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Bruce, working backwards...I knew Sysinternals was part of MS...I just expected (I guess) that, since the web site is separate, the name use would be as well. As for the password/PIN...

    I always viewed the password -- especially that of login -- as a more local protection: If my machine is off, it isn't available anyway (remote access is disabled) and if it is on, then firewalls et al were meant, I thought, to provide protection against hacks. Aside from the PIN being quicker for input, I was drawn to the idea that the PIN wold only work if entered directly from the machine involved. Was I wrong in this? For, if in fact I am correct, that combined with blocking remote access it would provide a good deal more protection than a password, and my plan was to remove all but the PIN for access to my machine.

    If however I was/am incorrect in this assumption, PIN's are still, as is stated in the Windows 10 installation process, easier and therefore "better."

    In either case, I cannot help but be a bit surprised that auto-logon would be hampered by a newly instituted process, and, being the curious and nosey sort that I am, I was/am looking for a way to combine the old with the new, much like how legacy apps are often still accommodated by later O/S/ versions.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,755
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    You cannot have a Windows PIN without having a password.

    With auto-login, a PIN is pointless; choose one or the other.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Bruce, it isn't really "pointless" in that 1) it still is tied only to the one machine thereby further deterring hackers, and 2) The ease of PINs is still valid if one does any switching between users' accounts. At the same time, if I (anyone) cannot have a PIN without a password, how would that deter hacking, since password hijacking would still be available, and 2) If anyone (I) had set up the PIN doing Windows setyp, would it then also have required me to set up a password as well? Somehow that appears somewhat self-defeating.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    The idea of using a PIN is to have an easy way to get on your local machine (requires physical access) while allowing you to use a long complicated strong password on your MS Account to deter remote hacking. At least that is the way I read things.

    If you are using Autologon the point is moot as it is a type it once and it's done operation. BTW: you can use Autologon for the initial signon then it's easy enough to switch to the PINs for switching between accounts. A quick click of the Signon Options link on the signon screen and select pin and you're good to go. The next time you restart (cold or warm) you will be autologged in. I just tested this so I know it works...at least with Local Accounts I didn't test with a MS account but I don't know why it should be any different...yeah right it's computers we're talking about here!

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •