Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Gatos CA
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Start-up options for different accounts?

    I have always run Windows using an Admin account, now I am trying to correct the error of my ways by using a non-admin account...mostly. So what I would like to do is have my mail client, Fossemail, and Firefox, and an assortment of programs start when I boot up in the Standard account, but a different selection of software in the Admin one. I feel sure that this must be possible, but haven't found out how to do it.

    David

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    David,

    Just place shortcuts to the desired programs in the proper User profile.

    C:\Users\YOUR USERID HERE\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    873
    Thanks
    516
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    I hope this isn't off-topic:
    I have a new 64-bit laptop running Windows 7 SP1. The vendor,Dell, downgraded (or whatever the correct term is) a Windows 10 laptop to sell it to me as a Windows 7 machine.
    I don't seem to have any startup folder as you describe, RG.
    Rather, all my startup programs appear to run as a result of Registry "run" settings.
    My question is: is this normal?
    If so, what's the best way to determine whether these programs need to start at boot-time?
    Thanks,
    Dick

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    You sure should have that directory it's on my Win 7 installation. You could always create the folders you're missing.

    Taken directly from my Win 7 HP installation:
    Code:
    C:\Users\UserID Here\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-08-26)

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Dick, it's possible that the folder in question is hidden. To show it (if that's the case) you'll need to go into properties. Unfortunately I don't have Win 7 to hand so can't tell you where the setting is. RG?
    Talk is cheap because supply exceeds demand

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to access-mdb For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-08-26)

  8. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    873
    Thanks
    516
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    The folder was hidden. However, the only file in there is: desktop.ini

    So, the question remains; given all the registry run settings for my "startup" programs, what's the best way to determine which ones need to startup at boot-time; and, if something doesn't need to be that way, where would I put these programs after "removing" them?

    Thanks,
    Dick

  9. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You will find most of the startup items are not required and only provide a quick link to run certain programs. Use a little common sense and disable all but ones related to basic hardware functionality via a startup manager like MSConfig, What's in Startup or CCleaner. You can also use Bleeping Computer's Startup database for advice about individual items located at:
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/

    After disabling most everything, reboot and see if something no longer works. If so, simply find a related startup item and enable it in your startup manager. Its almost impossible to get into trouble. Good Luck.

    Jerry

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2016-08-27)

  11. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Gatos CA
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Thank you Retired Geek, been away for a few days and just saw your explanation.

    David

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •