Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    817
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 102 Times in 89 Posts

    What is Flash needed for in WS forum

    I'm getting cheesed off closing the "This webpage wants ... Flash ..." popup from IE on every forum page here. I haven't noticed any ill effects ignoring Flash here, so what's it for?

    1. What am I losing by ignoring the request?

    2. What extras would I get by allowing the request?
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lugh View Post
    I'm getting cheesed off closing the "This webpage wants ... Flash ..." popup from IE on every forum page here. I haven't noticed any ill effects ignoring Flash here, so what's it for?

    1. What am I losing by ignoring the request?

    2. What extras would I get by allowing the request?
    I had a friend ask me about that and the only thing I could think of is advertising and poster's avatars, maybe video clips that are posted.

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,791
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 1,087 Times in 1,010 Posts
    I don't get the notification to run Flash, but I have AdBlock Plus loaded.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,907
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 795 Times in 639 Posts
    I agree with Paul T. I don't often use IE but, when I do, I don't get any notification to run Flash either. I use the AdBlock Plus extension for IE too.

    (PS - animated avatars are GIFs.)

    Hope this helps...

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    817
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 102 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I don't get the notification to run Flash, but I have AdBlock Plus
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    I don't get any notification to run Flash either. I use the AdBlock Plus
    That's not it, I too have AdBlock Plus enabled on WS. I'm on Win10 AU, which has Flash built in--maybe there's a setting there somewhere that I can't find atm, which I (in)ticked on an earlier run thru Win10 settings. Flash is enabled in IE > Manage add-ons.

    I don't get any notifications from WS when using Opera.

    Anyway, I'm more interested in the role of Flash on WS forums.
    Last edited by Lugh; 2016-09-07 at 05:24.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bradford UK
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 159 Times in 142 Posts
    Its down to the adds and videos which need Flash Player to run them. If Flash is fully enabled, it just runs automatically, so, if you don't want this to happen, set it to Always ask. If you block the ads, obviously Flash wont try to run. Videos in posts may need Flash although those coded as HTML5 do not.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,753
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 180 Times in 156 Posts
    I've uninstalled Flash on my PC to see if I can see what requires it here.

    First observation is I can still see the ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •