New Lounger
    Thanks

Help with a Custom Formula Conditional Formatting Rule

I am a new poster, but I search this forum regularly for answers (examples) to some basic Excel functions. I've used Excel's build-in Conditional Formatting (CF) rules in the past to apply some very simple formatting to cells; however, this is my first attempt to create a custom formula CF rule. I thought it would be fairly simple, but I've discovered it's a little more complicated than I anticipated. I tried various combinations of my formula; but I can't seem to get the desired results. At this point, I'm not sure if CF is capable of doing this.

The rule would check two conditions: (1) check the date in a given cell to see if it's greater than or equal to today (2) check to see if a given cell is blank. If both conditions are TRUE, apply the CF to three cells.

Example 1:
    (1) check the dates in cell B1; if the date is greater than or equal to today AND
    (2) check to see if B2 is blank, if TRUE apply the conditional formatting cells B1:B3.
    In this example, since both conditions are TRUE (Today()>=B1 and B2 is blank), the CF rule would be applied to cell B1 thru B3.

Example 2:
    (1) check the dates in cell B4; if the date is greater than or equal to today AND
    (2) check to see if B5 is blank, if TRUE apply the conditional formatting cells B1:B3.
    In this example, condition one is TRUE, but B5 is FALSE so the CF rule would not be applied to cell B4 thru B6.

Note: I don't think this would have an impact on my desired results, but the values in rows 2, 5 and 8 are limited to a 1 or -1.

In my screenshot below, the rule would apply to cells B1:B3 and D46 because the dates in B1 and D4 are greater than today and B2 and D5 are empty.

I would appreciate your help letting me know what I'm doing wrong.

CF1.jpg

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    Hi

Welcome to the Lounge as a new poster!

Now, it's important to get your request straight: