Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Name

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    PHUKET THAILAND
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    328
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Name

    Information pleases. How can I change the name of a computer, thanks, Phil.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    • Go into Control Panel -> System
    • About half-way down you should see something like "Computer name, somain and workgroup settings"
    • To the right there is a button called "Change settings"
    • At the bottom of the resultant window is a Change button, to modify the computername
    • Click on this, and change the computername
    • OK out, then you will have to restart to have the computername change actioned

    There may be minor differences in wording, since I am working on a Windows 10 PC!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to BATcher For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2016-09-15)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by COWBOYPHIL View Post
    ...How can I change the name of a computer...
    In Win7 click the Start button then right-click "Computer". In the resulting context menu click (left) on "Properties" to open the "System" dialog.

    On the right-hand side in the "Computer name, domain, and workgroup settings" section click on "Change settings" then choose what you want to use. As BATcher says in his #2 post after you have changed settings in this section and click "Apply" you will be prompted to restart Windows.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    COWBOYPHIL (2016-09-15)

  6. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    PHUKET THAILAND
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    328
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to you both very much problem solved, Phil.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •