Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Denison, TX
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Networking Issue in Windows 10 and maybe 8.1

    I'm not sure if this should be in windows 10 or under networking.

    All systems are on same network, work-group and router sub net.
    Some systems are logged into with a Microsoft email account and others with a local account.
    Even though all systems show in file explorer under the network tab.
    Connections for the Microsoft logins can only share files with other systems using a Microsoft login.
    When a Microsoft login tries to access a system with a local login you get a Network Credentials request.
    It makes no difference what credentials are used they are always rejected.

    I need a solution or an explanation as to why.

    Thanks in advance.

    Ron

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    I would suggest using admin local accounts on all computers and then check sharing.
    My LAN is 3- W7 Pro computers and 1- W10 Pro laptop and all have local accounts as admin and they all work fine.
    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Denison, TX
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    lumpy95
    I already know that if all are the same they can all share with no problem.
    Problem is Microsoft has made changes without letting users know about it.
    If they are going to change the networking rules we need to know about it.
    If Microsoft had their way everyone would be using a Microsoft login.
    To my way of thinking a mixed group should work together without any problems.
    Myself and most of my customer do not like the Microsoft login, but its required if you want an app from the store and other things.
    Yes you can have both a local and Microsoft login but that is extra overhead and confuses most users.
    Microsoft is being very tight lipped about this; I wish someone with a big hammer would wake them up.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    I set my W10 up with me as "Local Administrator" and I am logged in with a MS account under "Accounts Used by other Apps" so I can use the store for apps etc.
    That way I still connect with all my computers on the network and I can access the store. I did it that way when I first setup W10.
    After setting up W10 as a local administrator account, when I tried to use the store app, mail app, etc. I had to sign in with my MS login and save it. easy/peasy
    If Microsoft had their way everyone would be using a Microsoft login.
    That's true and everyone would be on W10 if they had their way. I only put it on 1 computer until I see how things play out with 10.
    Yes you can have both a local and Microsoft login but that is extra overhead and confuses most users.
    Unfortunately it is what it is since we don't own the OS. Personally I don't see any overhead problem on mine the way it is setup.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Denison, TX
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    lumpy95
    You do know that this problem is not just with local networks RIGHT?
    If you are logged in as a Microsoft account and you try to do a Remote Desktop connection to a Windows 8.1 or Windows 10 and those PCs only have local accounts you will never get past the credentials screen. Both ends have to be the same, local or MS.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Sorry Ron, from your original question I got the drift that it was your LAN at home. Obviously that isn't the case. Maybe someone better suited will be able to jump in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •