Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Rebuilding Windows 10

    I was having issues with a couple of programs I use, so I decided to "Start over."

    I did a clean install of 10240 RTM, then logged into my Insider account and ran updates.

    Why would I still be showing Build 10240 when, as I recall, I was running 14393?

    Do I need to do something additional?

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    From this thread, the following link:
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello, Chuck and Bruce.
    I used that link and ended up stopping the process as my build was more recent than the one offered there, all this after 2.5 hours of waiting. MS does not update that site. That was yesterday !
    Have a great day, you hear. Jean.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,588
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Hello, Chuck and Bruce.
    I used that link and ended up stopping the process as my build was more recent than the one offered there, all this after 2.5 hours of waiting. MS does not update that site. That was yesterday !
    Have a great day, you hear. Jean.
    That is the site to use to get the latest version of the Anniversary Update not the latest Insider Build.
    Joe

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Thanks a mega for the clarification, Joe.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •