Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burlington, VT, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 10 Pro 1511 erroneously upgraded to Windows 10 Pro Education 1607

    I manually updated my Windows 10 Pro 1511 to 1607 on September 5th. My memory of the upgrade procedure is a little vague but I believe I went to <settings/Update & Security/Check for Updates> and was given the option to download the anniversary edition, which I did. The file was named Win10_English_x64.iso. The upgrade was successful but it wasn't long before I noticed that Cortana was missing from my Start menu. It wasn't until a few days ago that I noticed that my windows edition that shows on the System panel is Windows 10 Pro Education instead of Windows 10 Pro. I also learned that Cortana is not included with the educational edition. My original copy of Windows 10 Pro was an OEM version that I acquired from BargainValley.com. I wonder what could have happened to have downgraded me to the educational version, and will I have problems re-installing my original version and upgrading again. I just downloaded a new version of the iso and notice that it is named Win10_1607_English_x64.iso which is different from the one that I downloaded.

    No, I didn't do an image backup before installing. I do use Crashplan and and File History to do regular incremental backups.
    Last edited by korkiley; 2016-09-23 at 15:41.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Go Start - Settings - Update & Security - Update history - Recovery options where you get the option to go back to a previous build, providing you do it within 10 days of the update.

    Go Start - type winver and press enter then you'll see which version the bought install disk gave you.

    Create a system image and a system repair disk.

    Press and hold F2 while going Start - Power - Restart and hold F2 until you get into the BIOS then change the Boot order so that it checks the DVD drive before the hard drive.

    F10 to Save and Exit - press enter.

    After the reboot, open Windows Explorer - This PC - stick the new ISO disk in and click on the Setup.exe

    If you have any problems then retry with your antivirus disabled or fully uninstalled.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    I manually updated my Windows 10 Pro 1511 to 1607 on September 5th
    Sudo, I think he is past the 10 days. If winver tells him that it is the education version, he may be stuck with it if that is what the original 1511 disk was.
    When you go to BargainValley. com, this is what you get ( although it looks like support continues ):
    BargainValley.com has Closed.

    Ongoing Order Support will Continue.

    Thank you very much for all of our past customers! We truly have appreciated your business and hope that you enjoyed our service. Our close to perfect 5 star rating on review sites tells us that we did a good job, and we can't cry home about that.

    But, we are moving on to different pastures. Not a worry, though. We'll be answering your questions or will provide ongoing support to any past customers. Just a little patience is all we ask. We will be reviewing our email box every weekday.

    Service@BargainValley.com

    Just like we have always said on our homepage - We treat you like we treat our own neighbor, and with that guiding principle, everything works out.

    Thanks again for your support.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    It does depend upon what the original was but I was wondering if a clean install would put things right - after creating a system image first.

    Wonder why they closed ?

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    But, we are moving on to different pastures
    That's the only explanation

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burlington, VT, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks. I could re-install from the iso I downloaded from BargainValley. I've rebuilt my computer many times and although I have a lot of python programming environment stuff to restore, it just takes time. One concern is that although I was supplied with a product key from BargainValley it didn't take and I had to go through some process and getting a new/different product key through Microsoft. I don't understand much about the MS licensing process so didn't know why this was necessary but since it ultimately succeeded I didn't pursue it further. That piece does concern me for a re-install though. Next time I guess I had better pay full price for a full license! On the other hand, it may have nothing to do with the fact that I bought my license through BargainValley.

    Thanks for looking at BargainValley. Maybe I should drop them a line out of curiosity.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    I would not use an ISO from a third party. Get it from Microsoft. Use the Download Windows 10.
    Joe

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burlington, VT, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    I would not use an ISO from a third party. Get it from Microsoft. Use the Download Windows 10.
    I sent an email to BargainValley but haven't heard back yet although I did receive a ticket so maybe there is some hope. I tried downloading the Windows Media Creation Tool but it wouldn't accept the product key that I received from BargainValley. It says "This product key didn't work."

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    If MS gave you a key to activate your OEM install then if it is on the computer, the free version of Speccy will display it - I assume when the tech activated your install, there wasn't any user input from you ?

    https://www.piriform.com/speccy

    Expand Operating System and it will be listed as the Serial No.

    When I've emailed for support, it has taken up to three days, but it depends how busy they are in restructuring.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    Sudo, from korkiley's post I would guess that his "Ticket" is with BargainValley.
    From the original post, it looks as though the install (1511) and upgrade to AU (1607) went ok, but the educational version is a mystery.
    I wonder whether cloning the current drive and then doing a clean install would help?

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burlington, VT, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    Sudo, from korkiley's post I would guess that his "Ticket" is with BargainValley.
    From the original post, it looks as though the install (1511) and upgrade to AU (1607) went ok, but the educational version is a mystery.
    I wonder whether cloning the current drive and then doing a clean install would help?
    That is correct. The ticket is with BargainValley. The only thing I can think of with the educational version is that I did something carelessly to get the wrong version. It still seems odd though.

    What do you mean by cloning the current drive?

    Thanks.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Have you checked with Speccy to see if you have a product key and try that with the ISO you have downloaded - it may mean a clean install so creating a system image of what you have as well as a system repair disk first would be prudent.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 174 Times in 147 Posts
    What do you mean by cloning the current drive?
    Making a bit for bit copy of the existing drive to an external or second drive, so that if anything goes wrong with an upgrade you have a complete backup copy to boot/run on your computer.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burlington, VT, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    Making a bit for bit copy of the existing drive to an external or second drive, so that if anything goes wrong with an upgrade you have a complete backup copy to boot/run on your computer.
    In other words, creating a drive image? I will definitely do that.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burlington, VT, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    If MS gave you a key to activate your OEM install then if it is on the computer, the free version of Speccy will display it - I assume when the tech activated your install, there wasn't any user input from you ?

    https://www.piriform.com/speccy

    Expand Operating System and it will be listed as the Serial No.

    When I've emailed for support, it has taken up to three days, but it depends how busy they are in restructuring.
    Thank you. Just to be clear, my computer is home built so there was never any tech involved except me. I built it when I was working for a university and at the time I used a group license for Windows 7 and then Windows 8. When I upgraded to Windows 10 I first used a preview version which I re-installed twice. Finally I bought the discounted Windows 10 Pro OEM version from BargainValley.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •