Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

    [worked around] Flash not working in firefox

    Windows 10 1511, Firefox 49.01, Flash 23.0.0.162

    Embedded flash doesn't function. Sometimes it crashes, see attachment. Other times I get a blank grey box. Youtube is OK.

    Same problem in Firefox Safe Mode and with a vanilla profile. OK if I revert to Firefox 48.0.

    Predictably Mozilla blame Adobe, Adobe blame Mozilla Ψ

    Any suggestions, apart from getting rid of Firefox - FWIW Chrome and Edge are both OK.

    NW
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 2.JPG (43.2 KB, 6 views)
    Last edited by northwood2222; 2016-09-27 at 16:03.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Chrome and Edge have flash built into their browsers. Firefox uses a plugin. You could try uninstalling flash, https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player...r-windows.html , reboot, then reinstall.

    Mark

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mledman For This Useful Post:

    northwood2222 (2016-09-25)

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mledman View Post
    Chrome and Edge have flash built into their browsers. Firefox uses a plugin. You could try uninstalling flash, https://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player...r-windows.html , reboot, then reinstall.

    Mark
    Thanks Mark - but, now it won't install, been sitting there for 30 minutes - "Installation will begin shortly". It wouldn't install in safe mode

    Previously it wasn't all sites that flash wouldn't work, eg BBC & CNN gave problems, WaPo and AJ were OK - now of course nothing &^%$* works.

    I'm sending this from Chrome -

    NW

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    Just after I posted I realised when I tried to install in Safe Mode I was probably in No Network mode, rebooted into Safe Mode with Network and it installed in a few seconds

    But it has not solved the problem, still have some sites - not working, I could understand if it was one or two odd sites, I'd blame them. But the BBC, CNN, SMH, UK Telegraph etc are main stream. But so are AJ , Guardian, WaPo, and NYT and they're fine. And facebook videos are also OK

    And the sites that don't work with Firefox 49. work with Firefox 48.

    Very odd. I have deferred Windows 10 AU, maybe that will fix it - although I've no idea why it should

    Oh, yes - I also tried removing all cookies.

    NW
    Last edited by northwood2222; 2016-09-25 at 00:59.

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    Fire up your computer in normal mode.
    Download Flash with Firefox. Make sure you un-tick the "optional" software that Adobe attempt to foist on you.
    Go to the folder where you have downloaded the update.
    Close Firefox. This is essential.
    Run the update.

    Some sites use HTML5 and don't require flash. Maybe it's those that are working.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Fire up your computer in normal mode.
    Download Flash with Firefox. Make sure you un-tick the "optional" software that Adobe attempt to foist on you.
    Go to the folder where you have downloaded the update.
    Close Firefox. This is essential.
    Run the update.

    Some sites use HTML5 and don't require flash. Maybe it's those that are working.

    cheers, Paul
    I've done all that and more, did you not read mledman's post and my responses?

    I suspect you're right, the sites whose videos work are using HTML5, the others are still using Flash. But why do that work on Firefox 48 and not Firefox 49 both with latest Flash. And why do they work with the Flash support built into Chrome and Edge. That suggests its a problem with Firefox. I might uniinstall and reinstall it tomorrow, the reconfiguring of the extensions is a PITA - my fault for having too many

    NW

  8. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Some things to try:
    Is flash active - tools - Add-ons
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...-mode-settings

    Mark

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to mledman For This Useful Post:

    northwood2222 (2016-09-25)

  10. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    [QUOTE= But why do that work on Firefox 48 and not Firefox 49 both with latest Flash. And why do they work with the Flash support built into Chrome and Edge. That suggests its a problem with Firefox. /QUOTE]

    Flash works in my Firefox 49.0.1. Maybe it is a corrupt installation of Firefox.

    Mark

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to mledman For This Useful Post:

    northwood2222 (2016-09-25)

  12. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mledman View Post
    Some things to try:
    Is flash active - tools - Add-ons
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...-mode-settings

    Mark
    Ah-ha - I'd tried flipping that setting off, but I didn't restart Firefox with it off - when I did it solved the problem

    I'll report that fact to Adobe and Mozilla. I don't want to run with it off.

    Quote Originally Posted by mledman View Post
    But why do that work on Firefox 48 and not Firefox 49 both with latest Flash. And why do they work with the Flash support built into Chrome and Edge. That suggests its a problem with Firefox.
    Flash works in my Firefox 49.0.1. Maybe it is a corrupt installation of Firefox.

    Mark
    I suspect you're right.

    I had a problem with Firefox (not with Flash) several years ago, that I could only resolve by reinstalling and reconfiguring it and all the extensions.

    I'll wait for Firefox 50 and see what happens. I have a workaround - if I really have to see a BBC or Torygraph video I can do it on Chrome or Edge.

    Maybe there's a Firefox extension that will fire Chrome with current url

    Thanks for your help.

  13. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by northwood2222 View Post
    Maybe there's a Firefox extension that will fire Chrome with current url
    There are such things, Open in Chrome and Open in Edge - I'll use the Edge one (it works), as I'm sometimes doing other things in Chrome, but I thought of another scenario where I can use Open in Chrome.

    I'm amazed at how often I think -- "I wonder if there's a gadget that does XXX" -- and 30 secs later I have an XXX gadget.

    NW
    Last edited by northwood2222; 2016-09-25 at 21:21. Reason: grammar

  14. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by northwood2222 View Post
    I've done all that and more, did you not read mledman's post and my responses?
    Yes, and you stated you'd installed in safe mode, which is not closing FF and installing Flash, which is why I suggested it.

    cheers, Paul

  15. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Glad you found success and other options.

    Mark

  16. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Courtenay, BC
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    Just a note on embedded Flash. Often, Flash won't run on a site unless it's the current version. It's a security precaution Adobe has implemented but depends a little on the software being used to author, if applicable.

    If there is a problem updating, Flash will be blocked on many sites. But not all, and not HTML5 ones.

  17. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    I got fed-up with Firefox telling me flash had crashed - so I disabled the wretched thing

    Capture.JPG

    Guess what - now the videos at BBC, Torygraph etc are working - go figure

    NW

  18. #15
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    HTML5?

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •