Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    I'm a new XP user - have patience please! When I try to copy my database to floppy it sounds like it's copying but when I try to read the disk nothing has been copied. I also can't copy/paste in Access.

    Any ideas please....

    Thanks - Paul

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    How are you trying to copy the database? And when you say you can't copy/paste in Access, are you saying you can't copy a value and paste it into a field, or something else?
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    My expectation is that your database is too large for a floppy.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    I'm just trying to copy and paste from one field to another - nothing major!
    Thanks

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    You may be trying to copy and paste a value that is indexed, value unique.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    I don't think so as it's text I've entered - how do I check the value of a field?

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    Go to design view of the table that contains the field. Select the field. Look at its index property. If it is set to "Yes, no duplicates", then you can not have two records with this value.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    No - only 202kb

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    No - checked it out! Any more ideas??

    Buy you a drink if you visit London!

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    How are you trying to copy to the floppy, from Windows Explorer?

    How much room is available on floppy? Have you tried copying anything else to it? Are you not seeing the file thru Windows Explorer after you supposedly copy it, or just can't open it?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    Copying direct from an Access 'basket' direct to floppy - file size less than 202kb. Sounds like it's copying but when I look at the disk there is is no info retained apart from the bones of the database, I'll e-mail you a sample if you like

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    I'm sorry, I don't understand your terminology. What do you mean by an Access "basket". And you say you've just got "the bones of the database"?

    Are you exporting the database? If so, why? given it seems your intention is to copy the whole database over?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    By "basket" I assume you mean the database window with tabs for tables, forms, etc.? You said you were trying to copy data from a field but you also said you were trying to copy to a floppy, so what exactly are you trying to copy from? You can export data from Access and you can even copy and paste to a limited extent between applications, but what exactly do you think you're copying *to* on that floppy?
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Twickenham, UK
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copying to floppy Access 97 (XP)

    Paul, correct me if I'm wrong, but it sounds to me like you're using the File , Save As option within the database in order to try and save the database to the floppy. This will only save whichever object (Table, Query, Form etc) you currently have highlighted. (This is what I assume you mean by copying from "basket" and only getting the "bare bones") <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    If this is the case, if you need to copy your whole database to floppy (with all its relationships etc. intact), you need to use Windows Explorer (otherwise you are only going to be exporting 1 table/query/form/etc rather than the whole database).

    With regards the copying of data within the tables, are both fields the same format (ie/eg is 1 field a 255 character text field and the other a date field)?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •