Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Performance monitor freeze

    A friend has a Compaq Presario CQ62 laptop with 2 MB RAM, running Windows 7. It is running slower than it used to, but a disk check reports no problems, and the memory diagnostics (mdsched) reports no problems; however, when I run the performance monitor (perfmon /report), the first phase (collecting data) runs OK, but the second phase (generating report) freezes. Is there something else I can check?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    2GB RAM?
    With that little it could be a disk space / swap issue. Try defragmenting the disk / clearing some space.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    Check the startup programs, disable ones which don't need to start with Windows.

    Check and clean the air vents.

    Uninstall unneeded programs, delete cache & temp, and empty recycle bin.
    If you know how, disable the swapfile.
    Defrag the hard disk.
    Reboot, re-enable the swap.

    In general use, close down programs which are not required atm, and make sure the HD doesn't get more than 80% full--Windows needs elbow room for managing.

    2gig RAM, while definitely better than your 2 MB, is borderline at the best of times for running stuff on Win7. Celeron isn't fast either, so you want to give them their best shot by cleaning things up.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for your replies.

    Yes I meant 2 GB RAM (typo).

    I have already defragmented the HDD, etc.

    When I run the performance monitor (perfmon /report), the first phase (collecting data) runs OK, but the second phase (generating report) freezes. Is there something else I can check (to make this work)?

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    Run Task Manager and see how much CPU / RAM / disk is being used.
    You might like to try the Sysinternal Process Monitor to see if it can shed any light on what is consuming what.
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-gb/...rnals/bb795533

    cheers, Paul

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Murgatroyd (2016-10-01)

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for your reply.

    Task Manager indicated 100% total CPU usage, notably process svchost.exe hovering around 97%. When I ended svchost.exe, the performance monitor promptly finished generating its report and indicated no issues other than high paging because of the lower than ideal RAM, and high CPU usage from svchost.exe, both as expected. However, with svchost.exe stopped, performance was acceptable, and after a restart, svchost.exe initially was not running, but it soon returned with high usage again. How can I find/fix what is causing this?

    Update: I traced the culprit to the wuauserv service. If I stop that, the issue immediately clears (but eventually returns). It appears that this is a known issue.
    http://woshub.com/fix-high-memory-us...-exe-wuauserv/
    Last edited by Murgatroyd; 2016-10-01 at 22:57.

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    This is a known issue with Windows Updates in W7.
    Try the suggestions in this thread. http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...slow-downloads

    cheers, Paul

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Murgatroyd (2016-10-02)

  10. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    That fixed it. Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •