Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Safe mode ?

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    Safe mode ?

    As I forget things easy, I will ask here again. I should have noted this !
    Is there a way to boot to Safe mode ? I tried some Fx keys but did not find the proper one. I have one laptop that runs fine in SM but as the tiles and icons are blank when a normal ( ? ) boot is done, it is a bit tedious to go to Recovery then restart in SM, going directly to SM would be some nice.

    At the moment, I think that it is getting 14942 as the steps involved were +/- normal, I got lucky and hit the proper blank tiles to get it D/L'd and now the small square are going round, not marbles, squares.

    You all have a nice weekend. Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2016-10-08 at 09:00. Reason: Added comment.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    The way I do from Win 10 is:

    1. Click Start.
    2. Click Power.
    3. Hold down Shift key.
    4. Click Restart.
    5. Keep hitting F8 as it restarts.

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,750
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 650 Times in 573 Posts
    Shift+Restart and F8 are alternatives; you shouldn't need both: How To Boot Into Safe Mode On Windows 8 or 10 (The Easy Way)

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Rick and Bruce, good morning.
    Thanks a mega for your two replies, I will try this. My problem is that on that machine when on a normal boot, it does not show the tiles and their instructions, I have to "luck" it. hit the proper tile. I normally get another machine running beside this Toshiba and that helps me.
    OK, I see that I got lucky on the last update, it shows 14942 on the Taskbar. Fun this is.

    Bruce, I want to thank you personally as I got many instructions over the years, from you, that were old DOS commands and still work in W-10, this last one is one of them.

    I am off to try it now, F8, here I come !

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    There's one thing that article didn't mention regarding booting up with a repair disk is that even if you have changed the boot order - for the machine to recognise the disk, you have to turn off fast start up.

    This may equally apply to those machines which support Secure Boot which also has to be turned off to boot with an USB - none of my machines support Secure Boot so I'm unable to confirm that.

    Having found that when testing my system images for booting up with a system repair disk, it still went straight to Windows and figured that was the cause.

    I now have my Win 10 laptops with that turned off and even though it adds to the boot up time, I know I'll still be able to get in to restore with a system image should things go awry.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR
    Shift+Restart and F8 are alternatives; you shouldn't need both: How To Boot Into Safe Mode On Windows 8 or 10 (The Easy Way)
    Oops... you're quite right, Bruce. I got confused with the method I use to get to the Boot menu (ie. to boot from an alternative device), not to access Safe Mode. Sorry, Jean... my mistake.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Not t worry, Rick. I followed Bruce's instruction and all is fine. I got to Safe mode quite easily. I was surprised to see the W-10 options to Restart in a different screen, thus Safe mode was offered after the Restart. What I was missing in regards to F8 was the previous requirement to Shift - Restart, the Shift had slipped my mind.

    Two machines on 14942 now, the old Toshiba laptop is running with the same bug, no tile has any instructions written in them. See my previous note about Blanks here.

    Sudo, thanks to you too, I have the same problem when trying to get Acronis bootable CD to run and to get a clone-back done. This on my three machines here. It seems that the BIOS is so programmed ???
    Is the Shift-Restart turning off the Fast start up ?

    Thanks again Bruce. Keep at me, I will eventually remember some commands.

    What a fantastic team work. Jean.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    I don't know about Shift+Restart temporarily turning off Fast startup but when I press and hold Shift+Restart then tap F8 it just takes me back to a normal boot.

    If you want to restore the old Win 7 F key options, open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter bcdedit then look to see what it has next to Default as your Identifier (it could be Default or Current) then enter bcdedit /set {Identifier} bootmenupolicy legacy

    Which should return as successful as in mine.

    You still need to turn off Fast startup and I think Hibernate, but on checking, I have that turned off which may have been from when I tried it before.

    To restore how it was then change legacy to standard in the command.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.14393]
    (c) 2016 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>bcdedit

    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    identifier {bootmgr}
    device partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume1
    description Windows Boot Manager
    locale en-US
    inherit {globalsettings}
    default {current}
    resumeobject {7f1ba1a3-6bf7-11e6-8f75-a1208833f897}
    displayorder {current}
    toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
    timeout 30

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier {current}
    device partition=C:
    path \WINDOWS\system32\winload.exe
    description Windows 10
    locale en-US
    inherit {bootloadersettings}
    recoverysequence {fffbc6c5-6bf7-11e6-8f75-a1208833f897}
    recoveryenabled Yes
    allowedinmemorysettings 0x15000075
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \WINDOWS
    resumeobject {7f1ba1a3-6bf7-11e6-8f75-a1208833f897}
    nx OptIn
    bootmenupolicy Standard
    usefirmwarepcisettings No

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>bcdedit /set {current} bootmenupolicy legacy
    The operation completed successfully.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>exit

    Enter exit to close the cmd window - Shutdown - then when you restart you will see the familiar F2 and F12 keys where you can tap F8 which will get you into the Advanced boot options.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Sudo, good morning.
    I met with total failure last evening in trying to follow your instructions. As you know, I do not see any written tiles on that machine, I try to guess which is what but I could not hit the proper ones after 1.5 hour of trying, I went to ZZZzzz.

    I have dumped this to my printer for safe keeping. Thanks for your dedication.

    That machine is on 14942 as it says so at the right end of the Taskbar, getting it there was also a chalenge, I lucked in.

    Have a nice day. Jean.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Perhaps it isn't applicable in Insider builds but I don't use any tiles and just right click on the Start button or type what I want at Start and press enter when they come up.

    Give the steps a try in your 14393 machine.

    Have you gone through Settings to see if it will display the Tiles ?

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Jean, just for kicks try:

    Right click on the start icon
    Click on Task Manager
    Click on More Details if the Process List is not shown
    Scroll the process list to the bottom until you find Windows Explorer
    Right click on Windows Explorer and click on Restart

    Jerry

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,796
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Jerry, hello.
    No use, it locked up after hitting the last step, Restart.
    Anyway, I got back one build as 14942 would not run from Hibernate, long process involved, power switch and long boot. I am again on 14936, seems fine.
    Thanks for your input.
    We are moving back to town and I will be busy. I will try again to get 14942 later, in a few days. Jean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •