Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Windows Media Player

    I am using Win 10 Pro 64 bit, Insider Preview Build 14942, and Windows Media Player constantly becomes unresponsive.

    I ran sfc /scannow, and the details are attached. I also tried SFCFix, and that encountered an unhandled exception, whatever that means.

    Advice would be appreciated.

    sfcdetails.txt (98.6 KB)
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by royw; 2016-10-10 at 10:53.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Download & install the (free) K-Lite MEGA Codec Pack: http://www.free-codecs.com/download/...Codec_Pack.htm but be careful what you choose during installation.

    K-Lite includes "Media Player Classic" for video files - I have found MPC by far best for video files for past 3-4 years now; much better than messing around with "Windows Media Player" or some other "solution" which are all-too-often aimed at getting you to buy a licence to view "their" content.

    BTW: I am currently watching a movie in MPC under Win10 Insider Preview 14942.1000 with no problems.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Coochin, thanks but I have had Media Player Classic for some time, and use it to watch all my videos. I also have VLC Media Player, but was hoping to sort out WMP as I like it for playing audio cds accompanied by visualisations from G-Force.

    Did the sfcdetails.txt file relate in any way to WMP?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Screenshot - 10_10_2016 , 07_41_08.pngFurther to my previous post, and clutching at straws, I thought I'd try turning WMP off in Programs and Features, but when I clicked "Turn Windows Features On Or Off" no features appeared. Apart from that I tried to burn a DVD from the .iso file for Build 14942, using ImgBurn but the attached screenshot shows the error message I received, which makes me think my DVD player is on the blink. Could that have a bearing on these problems?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Have a look here Roy.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Have you tried uninstalling the DVD player in Device Manager and then rebooting to reinstate it - also in Control Panel/System and Security/Find and fix problems/View all there's a troubleshooter for WMP bits as well as for Hardware and Devices.

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Sudo 15, I tried everything you said but still get the "Power Calibration Area is full" message when trying to burn a disk image. Also WMP is still not responding most of the time. One improvement is that Windows Features now works, but turning WMP off and then back on did not solve anything.

    Any other ideas?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    I've seen the suggestions of cleaning the drive and/or disabling that service in a couple of links such as https://www.davidtan.org/how-to-fix-...d-dvd-blu-ray/ but it would be a bit of a coincidence if yours needed cleaning after an update, so have a look at that service.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Sudo 15, I'll take my tower to my local computer technician to look at the CD/DVD player. I looked at the website you kindly gave me a link for, but "IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service" is not on my computer. Should it be, and if so where can I get it from?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    I don't know - I don't have it on my laptop either, but it was referenced in more than one Google link.

    In Device Manager do you have any of these that will allow you to enable DMA -

    http://mywindowshub.com/how-to-enable-dma-in-windows-8/

    I just have a bare bones Controller in mine without any Channels.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Sudo 15, I have 3 ATA Channel 0 Controllers and only one refers to DMA in Properties. That one had Ultra DMA Mode 6 enabled.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Yes, that's the one.

    Did you try uninstalling the DVD drive and let it reinstall with a reboot ?

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Yes I did and it didn't solve the problem.

    The problem with Windows Features has returned.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Did you also run the WMP troubleshooters >

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Yes.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •