Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can't change lock screen picture - W10 Home

    Is there any way to change the lock screen picture in Win10 Home? When I go to Personalize and then Lock Screen, there are five default photos I can choose from, but the Browse button is shaded and doesn't function.
    Is this something that doesn't work in Home, but does in other editions?
    Is there a registry hack to let me put my own photo there?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 575 Times in 460 Posts
    Have a look at the entry from zdzdz2305 dated October 31, 2015 in this answers.microsoft.com forum post.

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the link, Rick. I had already tried most of the suggestions, and the ones I hadn't tried, didn't work.
    Interestingly, the main suggestion of opening the picture in the MS picture app didn't give the option to set as lock screen, only set as "wallpaper". But I don't want this picture for my desktop.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Personalization options are typically disabled if Windows is not activated.
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Joe, I wish it were that simple. My Windows is activated.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Is your account a standard account or an administrator?
    Joe

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    My account is administrator.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you tried running SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated command prompt?
    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    As your suggestion, I ran SCANNOW and then tried to change the ock Screen. The 'Browse button is still grayed out.

    Screen Lock.jpg

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Make sure that HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Personal ization NoLockScreen=0. This one tripped me up with the exact same result. I'd turned off lock screen before the AU and then I couldn't change the image.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Went to regedit to try your suggestion, but the HKLM:\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Personal ization wasn't there. There is one in HKCurrentUsers/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion:

    regedit lockscreen.JPG

    Any suggestions?

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Another place to check:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Authentication\LogonUI\SessionData AllowLockScreen=1

    Have you tried creating another account and seeing if it acts differently? If a new account fails in the same way, it has to be an HKLM or something not quite right with the Win 10 install. That means a reinstall/reset...

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks, Phil.

    I confirmed that HKLM key - that's what I have.

    At your suggestion, I created another user and then went to the Lock Screen settings in personalization. Same thing, the ''browse' button to change the picture is greyed out, just like in my administrator account.

    I have another machine that I just did the Anniversary Upgrade on. It also no longer lets me change the lock screen picture, so I'm assuming now that it's an AU bug.

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I just checked a Win 10 Home VM that was upgraded to AU from a clean install of 1511 (currently 1607-14393.187). It has no additional software beyond Windows installed and no changes made to any registry entries. It is a VM that I keep as close to "vanilla" as possible just to be able to check out things that I mess up elsewhere ;^). In this VM, I can change the lock screen picture in settings like your image in post #9. There must have been something changed before the upgrade. Perhaps a reinstall from the Media Creation Tool is in order. (Note lock screen and spotlight have some interrelationships. I don't recall what they were during my testing. These interrelationships appeared in the AU. I had nolockscreen set before the AU and I could change the picture although the picture didn't show. After the AU I had to allow the lockscreen so I could change it to a picture. In fact after setting a lockscreen picture, one can turn lockscreen on (post 10) and keep the lockscreen image from changing.)

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    My machines were upgraded from 8.1, so a reinstall is not an easy option.

    I did notice that the lock screen menu has a message on top that may be the reason, although I have no idea what 'organization' it refers to, other than the OEM loading of the original Windows. (Green circle added by me)

    ls1.JPG

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •