Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Windows 7 product code

    Hi,

    Need some help.

    Have to rebuild a system for a friend. HD issue. System won't boot. HD will mount as a data drive however.

    So here's my issue. I need to obtain the product code for Windows 7. I know there are utilities that will obtain this code for a booted system, but does anyone know of a utility to obtain the code from a Win 7 HD mounted as a data drive on another system. Win 10 in this instance.
    George

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Have a look at this How-To Geek article: How to Recover Windows and Software Keys from a Broken Computer, particularly the use of Produkey.

    Hope this helps...

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    High Sierra (2016-10-14),mrjimphelps (2016-10-14)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,405
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Boy is that handy. I have some copies of that folder from older computers on my current hard drive. I'm going to try to extract old, lost keys from there. Maybe I can once again use some software that I used to use, but failed to backup the keys before that computer crashed.

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Thanks. I used that and it worked.
    George

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 879 Times in 841 Posts
    What do you click on after you have opened config ?

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    What do you click on after you have opened config ?
    From memory I think I've always clicked on the "SYSTEM" hive.

    Have used ProduKey many times to retrieve product keys from customers' non-booting systems, usually by connecting the HDD to one of my workbench, booting from a DOS CD, PCs and copying the C:\Windows\System32\config folder to a temp folder on the workbench PC's HDD, then running ProduKey after booting back into Windows.

    BUT if the customer's system is OEM then the Windows licence key returned by ProduKey is likely to fail activation due to the "imaging" method used by many OEMs during production runs.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 879 Times in 841 Posts
    I used Slui 3 to change the product keys on my Win 7 laptops to the COA sticker keys, but if you are working on an oldish machine then the key has probably worn off.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •