Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 106 Times in 93 Posts

    Pale Moon and Roboform

    In old posts here:
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RoboForm 7.9.19.7 and it errors out when attempting to install it in Pale Moon 26.2.2 via drag and drop from RF to PM
    ...
    RoboForm tech support that they are aware of the problem and are working on it.
    This ever get fixed, RG?
    I'm planning to have a look at a few browsers next month, so gathering a list of suspects.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,898
    Thanks
    420
    Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,434 Posts
    Lugh,

    I've dumped PM due to the RF problem and some other problems. I'm back using FF and RF works just fine with it and Chrome. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 106 Times in 93 Posts
    Thanks RG. Fyi RF works fine on Opera too.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Gatos CA
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lugh View Post
    Thanks RG. Fyi RF works fine on Opera too.
    When I saw this I decided to have a look at Opera. Installed it and checked out the Add-ons & Settings. A couple of items in the Settings Menu caught my attention. "Allow/Deny/Ask" when Websites want to access the camera, and the same for the microphone. I cannot find a similar option in FF. Do Websites have the ability to activate the camera and microphone. I've never seen the camera LED come on?

    David.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,541
    Thanks
    272
    Thanked 167 Times in 156 Posts
    Sounds like a question Macromedia/Flash sites ask.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  6. #6
    Administrator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,903
    Thanks
    374
    Thanked 640 Times in 537 Posts
    All browsers that have the ability to use a connected camera/microphone should default to 'always ask', you'd see a small drop down window asking you when you land on such a site.

    The settings are usually controlled per site (for the Mozilla-based browsers), right-click a blank area of the page > View page info > Permissions tab.

    Pale Moon doesn't have such a 'feature', so it can't be hacked and it can't cause other issues, it's a browser that doesn't try to be some all-singing, all-dancing, social/multimedia magazine that adds and then later kills off 'features' at the drop of a hat.

    With more recent Windows versions, you might have to check the setting that allows the camera/microphone to be accessed by other (3rd party?) software: Start > Settings > Privacy > Camera - 'Let apps use my camera' - is the switch, there are further individual settings, once that's enabled.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    wavy (2016-11-23)

  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    zealand denmark
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I love Chrome,but I have to admit that Pale Moon is pretty good,the only downside is that there are no extensions,and that makes it less secure

  9. #8
    Administrator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,903
    Thanks
    374
    Thanked 640 Times in 537 Posts
    No extensions? Less secure because of it?

    Please expand.

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just my opinion:
    Less secure because no Ghostery, PrivacyBadger, AdBlocker and many more extensions specifically for security.
    Granted I don't know what might be built in.

  11. #10
    Administrator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,903
    Thanks
    374
    Thanked 640 Times in 537 Posts
    Ghostery is buggy afaik, Privacy Badger v1.0.1 works fine, Adblocker: use Adblock Latitude or uBlockO. Built-in, ASLR, like EMET, which is why it's not advised to use EMET attached to PM.

    PM is often ahead of FF when it comes to security; more unused, vulnerable code removed, more control over secure connections, etc. and the dev goes to great lengths to ensure that sec. patches are up to, and even beyond, the current FF release version.

    PM is streets ahead in terms of stability, ime; I experience multiple FF crashes ~ every 3rd, 4th release but with PM, even the alpha/beta/pre-release versions are stable. It must be 2+ years since I saw a PM crash that wasn't down to an outside influence, almost all of those were found under test conditions after a particular site/page had been reported as leading to a crash.

    Heck, my last FF crash (49.02 ~20th of last month) was 'caused' by Flash ESR (long term stable release for business use, dropped last month), the first time in 2-3 years that I've had any browser crash caused by Flash ESR (I usually have 4 different but current Firefox Release versions installed at any one time).

    In case you weren't aware, if malware can crash a program, it can give the payload a much higher chance of getting close to the kernel and compromising Windows, not just the affected software. This is the #1 reason for many Windows Update security patches, for almost all Flash patches and why ASLR/EMET and other mitigating techniques were, and are being developed.

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You are, of course, entitled to your opinion.
    Personally I've never had any problems with Ghostery or uBlock Origin, or Firefox crashing except for certain sites I probably shouldn't have been on anyway.
    And I think those were Flash problems.
    I've tried just about every browser out there, windows and mac, and always come back to FF. It pays to judge on security merits but if that was all I worried about I probably wouldn't be on the web at all.

  13. #12
    Administrator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,903
    Thanks
    374
    Thanked 640 Times in 537 Posts
    Personally, I deal with/study other people's browser (and a wide variety of other) problems, here and elsewhere, on a daily basis - but that's only a tiny snapshot of browser problems that might be found across the 'net as a whole.

    I know what works for me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •