Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Microsoft Update Catalog

    Saw information that this website can be accessed now by any browser
    http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/

    I am using Firefox 64 bit latest version and it says that I need a plugin, but there is no link or description of what I need.

    Anyone know, thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    I'm using Firefox 49.0.1 x32 and don't have a problem, nor did I need a plugin:

    firefox.png
    Click to enlarge

    At what point does it say a plugin is required?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Right off the bat, fills entire screen, sounds like it may be a 32 vs 64 bit issue.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,405
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Here is all the info about how to do it:

    http://www.infoworld.com/article/313...y-browser.html

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Strange, seems to be working now. Did not do anything other than try IE tab on the plugin screen where it told me I needed IE 6 or higher and I have IE 10 installed. I had already read the Infoworld article and had the plugin issue so I came here. Thanks to all who replied.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ldb
    Right off the bat, fills entire screen, sounds like it may be a 32 vs 64 bit issue.
    I just installed the 64-bit version of Firefox 49.0.1 in a new VM and was able to get to the catalog without a problem, nor was I prompted for a plugin. The only plugins installed are the 3 default ones, i.e. OpenH264 Video Codec (by Cisco), Primetime Content Decryption Module (Adobe) and Widevine Content Decryption Module (Google).

    Could you have another plugin that's clashing?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Oops... looks like I replied 2 seconds after your last post. Glad it's working for you.

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,405
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ldb View Post
    Strange, seems to be working now. Did not do anything other than try IE tab on the plugin screen where it told me I needed IE 6 or higher and I have IE 10 installed. I had already read the Infoworld article and had the plugin issue so I came here. Thanks to all who replied.
    I think Microsoft fixed a bug in the process between your first and second attempts.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    It was buggy for me ~10 minutes ago when using a link to a specific KB#. Fixed by using the Search box.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,843
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    I don't have Firefox but I just tried it with Chrome ver. 53 and it seemed to work fine. Tried looking up a KB# and it went right to it.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ldb View Post
    Saw information that this website can be accessed now by any browser
    http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/

    I am using Firefox 64 bit latest version and it says that I need a plugin, but there is no link or description of what I need.
    There is indeed an ActiveX plugin that needs to be installed. Depending on your system's configuration, you may or may not get a prompt/warning about that. Once the plugin is installed, you'll be able to access the catalog.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  12. #12
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Check the link, Paul, that's not the old catalog.update.microsoft.com, which now redirects to the new site. No ActiveX needed.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    I did a complete system reinstall a few days ago after a hardware failure and got the ActiveX prompt from the catalog site... Admittedly, I was using the old link (http://catalog.update.microsoft.com/v7/site/Home.aspx), but I don't recall seeing a redirect, so I can't confirm whether the redirect failed and I needed to install the ActiveX control because of that or it redirected and I needed to install the ActiveX control anyway.
    Last edited by macropod; 2016-10-18 at 01:41.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  14. #14
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    This is all new, Paul, the last two days, as far as I can tell. iirc the redirect is more recent and I've seen reports that Edge didn't work, then it did, similar with odd errors, I guess they're still fine-tuning it/rolling it out ahead of an official blog/announcement.

  15. #15
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,405
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Try www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •