Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts

    Vista Runs @ 100% load all the time.

    Vista runs 100% loaded all the time.
    I have checked for viruses and Malware using several searchers.
    I have searched online for solutions to this issue.
    I have disabled all startup items.
    Windows seems to startup OK and runs @ ~ 2% for a short while creeping up in CPU and MEMORY usage until it hits 100% in about 10 - 15 minutes.
    I cannot do a backup. It fails saying it timed out. I cannot do a backup in safe mode.
    It seems like it is feeding itself with busy work. It never completely locks up but it takes forever to respond to mouse clicks. Task manager always works but that doesn't fix the clog. Logging off and back on doesn't fix the clog so it may not be windows.
    A restart works to start over.

    I have run out of things to try.
    It is E-machine 3.33Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 125Gb HDD, C:, D:, E: partitions. C has 5 GB free space. It is not a disk issue. I have a 1TB external drive.

    I need to know how to trouble shoot it.
    I am medium Knowledgeable. I am a BEE Electronics HP*31Years, retired.
    I use FF 39, SpybotSD, Sup anti spyware and CCleaner. The cash is clean and it does this off /on line.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    1. What edition of Vista are you using? (e.g. Starter/Home Basic/Home Premium/Business/Enterprise/Ultimate and x32 or x64)
    2. Do you have Service Pack 1 (and subsequent updates) installed?
    3. Do you have AV installed? (and, if so, what?)
    4. When usage (CPU/Memory) climbs after about 10 - 15 minutes, have you been watching using Task Manager (with a tick in the Show processes from all users checkbox), sorted on the CPU column. If so, what shows?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    I forgot to ask...

    I'm guessing this is an eMachine laptop? What model no. (in case it's a known issue)?

    Have you carried out any checks for overheating in case this is the cause (i.e. after 10-15 minutes)? Can you hear any fan activity?

    Sorry to ask all the questions but the more info you can give then the more likely it is that someone on the forum may have a 'I know what that is' lightbulb moment about a device that is apparently ~10 years old.
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2016-10-17 at 16:56.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Windows Update hogging a single core CPU?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow
    Windows Update hogging a single core CPU?
    That was my first thought... but I thought I'd ask for some background info first before suggesting turning off WU. )

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    philomel (2016-10-18)

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Thank You for the reply/questions.
    I have E machine T3604 tower. It is clean dust free. Fan is running. It is not hot.
    Vista Home Premium. 2 GB ram, SP2, all recommended updates. Some optional updates hidden.
    I don't know AV unless you mean VLC and ANT.
    I don't believe the Updater is running.
    I flush cookies often, no help.
    Something is running in the background but I don't know how to find out what it is. Task manager shows nothing.

    Running processes screen shot. (all users)

    processes-1.pngprocesses-2.png

  8. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Right-click the svchost in Task Manager that's showing the high CPU% and high memory usage and select Go to Services, is the WU Service running (highlighted) under that?
    Last edited by satrow; 2016-10-17 at 18:47.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    philomel (2016-10-18)

  10. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    The svchoast does not show 100% usage. Task manager shows 100% usage. Sorry if i mislead you.
    I did what you asked and YES updater is running along with others.
    Screen shots of Task man and Svchoast.
    Svchoast-1.png
    taskman-1.png

  11. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Further: Win update is not on auto download. It is set to advise me and I download manually, usually important not the nice to have BS.
    This issue is maybe 6 months old. I've never had an issue with WU before.
    I can run a temp check SW if I know which one to download and run.
    I can shut off WU if we know how to start it back up.
    I have the original OEM Vista Home Prem disk.

  12. #10
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Disable the Windows Update Service from services.msc and stop it, see if the CPU% drops.

  13. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    It appears to be badly wounded.
    Task manager shows it trying to restart?
    WU dead-1.png

  14. #12
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    It shows *something* running, or trying to start, I can't tell what that might be.

    To get Vista updated (and, hopefully, curing the CPU/memory hogging behaviour for a month or so), you could try following the trail here: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...=1#post1070103

  15. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Windows update starts by itself in services.
    I used the button "services" in the lower rt corner of the services page of task manager.
    Windows update is set to restart automatic after 1 minute.
    I changed it to manual.
    Now Cpu runs @ 4-20%.

    Thanks much.

  16. #14
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    You may wish to consider this approach:

    1. In Services (run services.msc or Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services), stop and disable both the Background Intelligent Transfer (BITS) and Windows Update services.

    2. Copy/paste the following code into Notepad and save it to something like "WindowsUpdate.bat" on your desktop. (Make sure the new file ends in .bat, not .txt)

    Code:
    REM Start the Windows Update and Background Intelligent Transfer services
    
    sc config wuauserv start= auto
    sc config bits start= auto
    net start wuauserv
    net start bits
    
    REM Now run Windows Update and wait
    
    control /name Microsoft.WindowsUpdate
    pause
    
    REM When finished, stop the services and disable them
    
    net stop wuauserv
    net stop bits
    sc config wuauserv start= disabled
    sc config bits start= disabled
    Now, if you ever want to check for Windows Updates, just right-click on the WindowsUpdate.bat file and choose Run as Administrator.

    This will enable both services, start them then run Windows Update automatically. When you close Windows Update and press a key in the BAT file's commandline window (where it prompts you to Press any key to continue...) the BAT file will continue, will stop the 2 services, disable them both again and close the commandline window automatically.

    This will work for all later versions of Windows as well, although I've only ever used it personally (and successfully) with Windows 7 and 10.

    Hope this helps...

  17. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    philomel (2016-10-20),satrow (2016-10-20)

  18. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    I recent learned three things:
    1. How to make WU stop hogging the show.
    2. How to make a batch file and run it from the desktop.
    3. That, Science is still working. I don't know it this is because of, or in spite of, Microsoft!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •