New Lounger
    Thanks

Word document formatting

Hi there,
    Please see attached txt file and look for following certain elements after header info.
    You will notice that for each cancelled invoice or invoice line data, there is some header data like customer name, order number, order date, customer number, salesperson and currency. This data is followed by details from that specific order.

I want to move all this header info to the detailed tabulated info for each record using macro. In other words I would like to first move headings (which are customer name, order number, order date, customer number, salesperson and currency) for each record next to Category column and their respective data in the below lines for each Line number. You will see Line number on extreme left being the first column of tabulated data.

Please advise if this could be handled using VBA. I have few years of experience using VBA in Excel but I am new to Word VBA and therefore your help would be much appreciated.

Regards,
    SMI
    Attached Files Attached Files

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Yes it can be done with VBA in Word but it would probably be easier in Excel if that is where your knowledge lies.

The code would need to be able to deal with inconsistent data such as those records where there is no Salesperson or Currency from the header and those lines in the tables with a field that wraps to more than one line. Those inconsistencies make the task considerably more complex.

Are you sure there is no way to customise the data source so that it suits what you require? The text file appears to be an export from a database and it would be far easier to arrange an export in the format you require.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Andrew Lockton For This Useful Post:

SMI (2016-10-21)

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Lockton View Post