Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    627
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts

    IE 11 page failures and freezing

    In another thread...
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    apart from a few IE hangs/freezes since the latest update, 1607 14393.321 seems to be working okay
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    IE was becoming unusable on two upgraded laptops with constant Windows has found a problem with the web page and closed and reopened it - only it doesn't and I have to restart the machine to get out of it.
    I've also experienced a deterioration in IE 11 this year. Before Win10 [on Win7] it was the intermittent page problems Sudo describes. Since Win10 1511 and 1607, the page problems continue, and 1-2 times a week IE refuses to shut down--get it down to one tab open, and then the tab X, browser X, File > Exit, and taskbar X Close Window all fail. Unlike Sudo I don't have to reboot, ending the IE process in Task Manager does the trick--and IE doesn't show any abnormal CPU or memory usage in TM. Closing tabs works fine, only browser close fails maybe one time in 10--I haven't noticed any pattern to the failures.

    I keep Flash disabled, which gets me the annoying yellow message box at the bottom of the screen on most web pages saying sth like 'This page wants to use Flash'. I wonder if that might contribute. The other active add-ons I have are:
    AdBlock Plus;
    RoboForm;
    WOT Web of Trust.


    Scanning my IE Options Advanced:
    Enabled
    Enable flip ahead with page prediction;
    Enable visual styles on buttons and controls;
    Load sites and content in the background;
    Use smooth scrolling;
    Send IDN server names;
    Play sounds;
    Show pictures;
    Check for publisher's/server cert revocation;
    Enable Integrated Windows Authentication;
    Enable smart screen filter.

    Disabled
    Enable alternative codecs in HTML5;
    Play animations;
    Enable Enhanced Protected Mode.

    This is a recent new install of IE, end of June when I upgraded to Win10 and did clean installs of all programs. I use Opera as my 2nd browser, and it's been performing flawlessly on limited usage.

    Any clues or ideas?
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,651
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    I haven't cleaned installed my Win 10 but have done a repair install which hasn't improved anything.

    I've found now that I can getby by hitting F5 when trying to get an URL but it shifts my opened tabs around.

    I contacted MS and it would seem my problem stems from neither of my Toshiba C660 laptops being Win 10 compatible, although everything worked fine in 1511 - it would seem that they just don't like 1607.

    As your problem has been carried over from Win 7 then yours is a different problem.

    EDIT - You could try re-registering the IE .dlls with these cmds from a Command Prompt (Admin) -

    regsvr32 softpub.dll

    regsvr32 wintrust.dll

    regsvr32 initpki.dll

    regsvr32 dssenh.dll

    regsvr32 rsaenh.dll

    regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll

    regsvr32 sccbase.dll

    regsvr32 slbcsp.dll

    regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll

    exit
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2016-10-23 at 06:06.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Lugh (2016-10-30)

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    627
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    Thanks Sudo. I ran those commands, following fail ~"module can't be found":
    regsvr32 initpki.dll
    regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
    regsvr32 sccbase.dll
    regsvr32 slbcsp.dll
    ...the other 5 were successful.

    Ran SFC /scannow, didn't find anything amiss.

    I assume next steps are to Reset IE, and if that doesn't help try uninstall and reinstall?
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,651
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    I think I had the same problem with some of those cmds.

    I've since found these two articles and have run the cmds from each.

    http://www.tenforums.com/browsers-em...-crashing.html

    http://atechjourney.com/recover-webp...ezing-up.html/

    In the first one, right click and drag your mouse over the cmd in the first post to highlight then right click on it and select Copy.

    Open a Command Prompt (Admin) and select paste - you may have to press enter to execute.

    Because it's a continuation roll up of the cmds, they do take some time to complete, but each run of the sfc /scannow also came back clean for me and I don't think it accomplished much.

    Scroll well down in the second article where you'll find a much larger list of cmds to copy & paste to the cmd prompt.

    These seemed to give me some improvement on one of my upgraded laptops but not so on the other, although I can still get a blank screen with a busy on it.

    This forum seems to be the worse for that when navigating the threads.

    I don't think it's so much IE but AU that has caused my problems.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Lugh (2016-11-01)

  7. #5
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    627
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    Thanks again Sudo, I'll give those a whirl before trying more drastic attempts.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    This forum seems to be the worse for that when navigating the threads.
    I rarely have problems here, the BBC is probably my main source of problems--however, that could be simply due to it's a site where I visit a good few pages daily.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  8. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,651
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Well, repair installs don't do anything for me so I may have to consider clean installs, although I don't have an appetite for them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •