Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Occasional missing lines when printing, or when making pdf

    It's unclear to me in what category I should post this.skipped.jpg
    Suddenly, when I print particular things, especially articles in a Hebrew newspaper (haaretz),
    Occasional lines are skipped (come out blank instead of the text that belongs). If I print again,
    the missing line might be there but others might turn out blank. I thought it might have to do
    with the printer, and for some reason I had better luck if I first “Print” to a pdf (using nitro pdf
    creator), and print from the resulting file. Now, a few days later, I notice that a pdf of a long New
    Yorker article comes out with blank spaces a few lines long (once or twice in a very long article),
    As see the accompanying jpg. In the pdf case, horizontal thin lines mark the beginning and end of the
    skipped area.
    The two phenomena might be related, in which case maybe the first
    has nothing to do with the printer.
    I’m using Windows 7 64 bit, and a Brother laser printer I’ve had for years.
    Any ideas?

    PS --- It seems to be happening more often. Also, in one case, half a line (before
    a comma) was missing, instead of a whole line.
    Last edited by yerubal; 2016-10-26 at 20:17. Reason: Postscript

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Does it happen on another computer?
    Have you updated the printer drivers recently?
    Is the PC running at high CPU use for some reason?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Does it happen on another computer?
    Have you updated the printer drivers recently?
    Is the PC running at high CPU use for some reason?

    cheers, Paul
    Paul, thanks.
    I just tried the same things on our other win7 PC (this one 32bit), and
    a) The same thing didn't happen
    b) Reproduced the phenomenon on the original PC and noticed that there wasn't extreme
    CPU usage (around 40% max).
    c) I haven't updated the printer drivers recently.
    d) I think I'm mixing up two different phenomena. What I included a picture of
    was from the New Yorker's long endorsement of Hillary (at
    go to http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/20...illary-clinton ),
    and I don't have any kind of subscription or registration with them, so that's probably
    a way they have of slightly spoiling things for outsiders. That NYer problem DOES happen on the 2nd PC.
    There are various ways their article pages behave differently (eg, no print icon, and the 3 dot icon
    doesn't lead to choices like print, but just takes me to the next article).
    So, that's it so far. Incidentally, it's the same model printer on both PC's, so maybe I should try
    to switch them to see what happens.

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Its Hillary destroying some of her lines to throw Donald off. Lol
    So have you updated your printer drivers to see if you have the same problem yet,,or switched printers?I
    Had similar things happen and i had to run the cleaning and lining program on the printer. Kinda like what it does when you put new cartridges in.
    Last edited by Weedhopper; 2016-10-27 at 16:04.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Weedhopper,
    I'm not sure when I'll have time to exchange the printers (which thankfully are the same model).
    I'm in a whirl with various matters. I don't know how to update the drivers (it's been ages
    since I did anything like that).
    THE ONE CLUE so far: If I take an article that happens with, and first print it to pdf,
    and then print from the pdf file, I have no problem. I can say that more definitively
    now that I don't confuse this problem with the New Yorker case (where the pdf's do show
    the problem).

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Reporting:
    I've switched printers (same model), and I've also updated the printer drivers,
    and, no cigar. The problem with the test article stays exactly as before.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Update: I tried changing the drum on my Brother laser printer in desperation
    (the fact that exchanging printers did no good guaranteed that this
    would not work). No progress (of course). The problem must be in the PC somehow.
    Incidentally, sometimes I get pages with lots of random letters missing.
    [Again, this hasn't happened when I print to pdf first]

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Before all else fails I try a different data cable, try a different port, pull the power and data cable from the printer, then try it all again.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by yerubal View Post
    Incidentally, sometimes I get pages with lots of random letters missing.
    [Again, this hasn't happened when I print to pdf first]
    That really does point to a printer driver issue, since you don't have problems with 'printing' to PDF using a PDF 'print driver'. That of itself also suggests a workaround - print to PDF and from there to paper. A long-term solution means getting a print driver for your printer that prints correctly. Uninstalling the existing driver, then reinsyalling it or, preferably, an updated driver might resolve the problem.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by macropod View Post
    That really does point to a printer driver issue, since you don't have problems with 'printing' to PDF using a PDF 'print driver'. That of itself also suggests a workaround - print to PDF and from there to paper. A long-term solution means getting a print driver for your printer that prints correctly. Uninstalling the existing driver, then reinsyalling it or, preferably, an updated driver might resolve the problem.
    I did update the printer driver, by going to Brother and downloading and installing same,
    but that didn't help. I didn't uninstall anything though.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    yerubal,

    The picture you included in your OP doesn't look like skipped lines - it looks like a blank overlay superimposed on the lines in question. Perhaps looking at it that way will help someone arrive at a solution.

    Zig

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Zig View Post
    yerubal,

    The picture you included in your OP doesn't look like skipped lines - it looks like a blank overlay superimposed on the lines in question. Perhaps looking at it that way will help someone arrive at a solution.

    Zig
    Zig, you're right about that.
    But I didn't discover that until post #3 in this thread (see there, at d),
    and I've been aware of it since I corrected myself then.
    The basic phenomenon, though, is missing lines at other sites.
    To complicate things: At some pages they're the same ones (reproducibly).
    And sometimes I start getting pages with missing letters peppered
    all over the text, usually at later pages.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    There's good news.
    First, let me mention another symptom that was turning up. Often, the headers and footers
    (the tiny lines at the top of some doc pages that told the name of the article and maybe date,
    and below with the URL of the article, often) would have many spaces inserted.
    Now, I thought I'd try Weedhopper's suggestion of using a restore point from before this started.
    The first time I logged the phenomenon was 10-21, but I'm not sure when it started.
    My guess was, a couple of days or so earlier maybe. I looked at the restore points.
    There was one at 10-18, and I thought I'd try that (I have no memory for why there's
    a restore point on 10-18. I didn't log anything, but I'm not dependable that way).
    I'm not cool and calm and deliberate with this problem, because I'm rather upset
    about it, and I neglected to scan for affected programs before I asked for a restore
    to 10-18. Anyhow, IT WORKED! So far, it looks like the problem is fixed.
    I assume I need to go for the MS update now (originally done on 10-28,
    so that couldn't have been the culprit).
    I'm hoping I won't be back here with this problem. I'd like to thanks everyone
    who contributed his thoughts. I'll look back at this thread to see if there have been
    further comments. I wish I'd logged what happened on 10-18 originally,
    assuming it was something, probably trivial seeming, that I was aware of.
    Sigh.

  14. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Sure glad that worked for you my friend. I have found System Restore to be an awesome tool for such glitches.
    I now make a habit of doing a System Restore point when my machine is running good at least every couple weeks.

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks again, weedhopper. Doing system restores intentionally,
    and being more meticulous about logging things
    are both takes of mine here. And, what a relief.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •