Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts

    Outlook 365 domains and their DNS records

    I am puzzled that Microsoft Outlook 365 Admin reports more DNS records for an (email) domain (such as CNAME records and a few others) than do the standard DNS viewers online and also Nir Sofer's 'DNSdataView' utility.

    Does anyone know if there is an easy explanation for this?
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 173 Times in 150 Posts
    Perhaps the records are Microsoft specific and the other viewers aren't aware/don't look for them.

    What type of additional records are you talking about?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    There is nothing produce for the A, CNAME and SRV records.
    Certainly the missing records seem to be Microsoft-only ones...

    DNSsettings.png
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 173 Times in 150 Posts
    To use the Microsoft services listed you need to change the DNS records accordingly.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,451
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 196 Times in 176 Posts
    Partly true - when setting up a domain on Office 365 Microsoft offers the option to "set up the DNS records [at your registrar] automatically", which is where all those records in my screen shot have come. The DNS records setup mechanism is flaky - but not as flaky as its subsequent retrieval of all the DNS records, where subsequent attempts can give a quite different result, stating records are missing.

    I had to set up an initial TXT record MS=123456789, from which it accepted that I was the domain owner. I also had to set up four Microsoft name-servers. After this, multiple "automatic setups" eventually gave what Microsoft accepted as a valid set of DNS records.

    It would seem, then, that Microsoft uses many DNS records which don't exist at the domain registrar!
    BATcher

    "The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you can never know if they are genuine."
    Abraham Lincoln
    

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,426
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 1,025 Times in 953 Posts
    Setting those DNS records is normal in an MS environment. They are only for internal consumption so only need to be on your internal DNS servers.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •